Rolex Series

Michael Shank Racing Crew Disqualified From Rolex 24

1 Mins read
The defending Rolex 24 at Daytona winners fought back for a podium finish (Photo Credit: Rolex/Stephan Cooper)

Michael Shank Racing’s #60 Ford-Riley has been disqualified from the Rolex 24 at Daytona results after officials found “the engine was found with mechanical adjustments resulting in performance levels outside the documented maximums.”

The decision means that the team of Ozz Negri, John Pew, A.J. Allmendinger, Justin Wilson and Marcos Ambrose forfeit their third place from the event, and with it the 30 points scored towards the Rolex Series championship. The team also forfeits the £35,000 prize money, with an additional £15,000 fine payable to Camp Boggy Creek, the official charity of Grand-Am.

Michael Shank Racing and Ford also lose 30 points in the teams’ and manufacturers’ points respectively.

We are as surprised about this as anyone,” said team owner Mike Shank. “This was an incredible team effort–not just from John, Justin, Ozz, Marcos, and AJ, but from the entire crew as well as our partners at Roush Yates. We are very proud to work with Ford Racing, and we know that the guys will figure out what when wrong and make sure we are not in this position again. After having fought back from so far down to make it to the podium, it is hard to put into words how disappointing this is.”

2902 posts

About author
James is our Diet-Coke fuelled writer and has been with TCF pretty much since day 1, he can be found frequenting twitter at @_JBroomhead
Related posts
Endurance RacingGrand-AmRolex SeriesSportscars

Chip Ganassi Racing Switch To Ford EcoBoost For TUDOR Championship

2 Mins read
Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates will switch to Ford EcoBoost engines for the inaugural TUDOR United Sports Car Championship. The team, which…
Rolex Series

Third Straight Victory Clinches Title For Wayne Taylor Racing Team

3 Mins read
Max Angelelli and Jordan Taylor won the Rolex Series Daytona Prototype championship in emphatic fashion as the Wayne Taylor Racing teammates completed…
Rolex Series

Cameron Eclipses Title Chasers For Lime Rock Pole

1 Mins read
Dane Cameron took his second Rolex Series pole position of the season to put the #42 BMW-Riley of Team Sahlens on the…