American Le Mans Series

2013 12 Hours Of Sebring: Hour 6 Update

2 Mins read
2013 12 Hours of Sebring (Photo Credit: Audi Motorsport)

The hour started with the lead in P1 being held by the #2 Audi being driven by Lucas Di Grassi, this was lost to the #1 Audi driven by Treluyer after the #2 car stumbled when overtaking a GT car. The Audis ran close together being separated by just a second trading the lead between the two cars until Treluyer was able to establish a lead until it’s next scheduled fuel stop.

The lead P1 pit stop had added drama as both lead Audis pitted at the same time, the stops went to schedule and the cars returned to the race #1 leading #2 Audi, now with Kristensen on board.

The race was neutralized with a full course caution due to the second place P2 car the #01 HPD being driven by David Brabham stopping on track. The resulting safety car led to a flurry of pit stops across the classes. The #01 car dropped right down the order in P2 and at the close of the hour it looked increasingly likely that the car would retire from the race

A significant stop was the #1 Audi, the stop looked precautionary but did involve the team removing the front body section of the car. The car was returned to the race with no real dramas.

All GT cars took advantage of the yellow to pit, the #62 Ferrari and #17 Porsche were able to move up the order as they needed less fuel during the pit window. These cars ended the hour as class leaders.

The hour ended back under green with the lead P1 Audis close together #2 leading #1 and the #12 of Nico Prost being closely followed by #6 Klaus Graf in the HPD.  The GT battle continuing to be a highlight with top 6 being covered by less than 15 seconds, the class being led by #62 Ferrari of Olivier Berretta.

The #551 and #552 HPD cars led P2 and the GTC class was being led by the #11 car, being driven by Jon Fogarty, after the pit stops

2013 12 hours of Sebring class standings after 6 hours

#2 Audi – di Grassi/Kristensen/McNish
#1 Audi – Fassler/Jarvis/Treluyer
#12 Lola – Heidfeld/Jani/Prost

#551 HPD – Tucker/Franchitti/Briscoe
#552 HPD – Hunter-Reay/Pagenaud/Tucker
#41 Zytek  – Kimber-Smith/Zugel/Lux

#8 ORECA – Cumming/Johansson/Marcelli
#52 ORECA – Cheng/Guasch/Ostella
#500 ORECA – Nunez/Shears/Heinemeier Hansson

#62 Ferrari – Beretta/Bruni/Malucelli
#17 Porsche – Henzler/Sellers/Tandy
#56 BMW – Muller/Hand/Edwards

#11Porsche – Hedlund/Heylan/Fogarty
#31 Porsche – Farnbacher/Giermaziak/Gomez
#44 Porsche – Ehret/Imperatori/Sandberg

Related posts
American Le Mans SeriesBTCCDTMFIA GTFormula 1GT SeriesIndyCarMoto3MotoGPNASCAR

TCF Team Pick: Race Of The Year

7 Mins read
As we at continue to cast our collective minds back over the previous twelve months of racing the time has come…
24 Hours of Le MansAmerican Le Mans SeriesBritish GTFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Ginetta GT4 SupercupGinetta JuniorGP2 SeriesGT World ChallengeMotorcyclesRenault UK Clio Cup

TCF Team Pick: Team Of The Year

7 Mins read
As the TCF team continue to look back on the highlights and talking points of the 2013 season they turn their eyes…
American Le Mans Series

ALMS: Last Ever Season In Review

6 Mins read
With the final season of the American Le Mans Series (ALMS) drawing to a close for the final time, it was another…