2013 12 Hours Of Sebring: Hour 9 Update

2013 12 Hours of Sebring (Photo Credit: Porsche North America)

Seven minutes in to the ninth hour of the 12 Hours of Sebring the green flag signalled the start of the racing once again after the track barriers were repaired following a heavy incident involving the Alex Job Ferrari.

Audi continue to dominate the P1 class with Allan McNish leading the way in the #2 R18 e-tron Quattro followed closely by Marcel Fassler who at one point moved within striking distance of the lead before thinking better of it. Nick Heidfeld leads the privateers in the P1 class ahead of Lucas Luhr and Congfu Cheng who had their own battle early in the hour with Luhr moving up a place at the expense of Cheng.

In the P2 category Marino Franchitti held the advantage over Scott Tucker and despite being 3 laps down in class Eric Lux holds on to third in class.

The PC class remains a tight battle with Mark Wilkins and Mike Guasch on the lead lap followed by Chris Cumming, Bruno Junqueria and Charlie Shears a lap down.

the #56 BMW of Dirk Muller reported steering issues shortly before coming in to the pits, as the mechanics lifted the car up the front left suspension disentigrated leaving the team to change the suspension assembly and losing valuble time.

Brian Sellers moves up to second place in the GT class after setting up BMW of Martin in to the last corner. A brilliant duel through the last corner would see the Porsche emerge ahead of the BMW Z4 with a Viper almost glued to his bumper.

Drama in the GTC class in the closing minutes of the hour as the #45 Flying Lizards Porsche piloted by Nelson Canache Jr had a small off before recovering. Just a lap later leader Sean Edwards would also have an off-track excursion losing out to Kuba Giermaziak. Previous class leader Craig Stanton continues in third place.

2013 12 Hours of Sebring class standings after 9 hours

#2 di Grassi/Kristensen/McNish
#1 Fassler/Treluyer/Jarvis
#12 Prost/Heidfeld/Jani

#551 Tucker/Franchitti/Briscoe
#552 Tucker/Hunter-Reay/Pagenaud
#41 Kimber-Smith/Zugel/Lux

#52 D. Cheng/Guasch/Ostella
#05 Bennett/Braun/Wilkins
# 8Marcelli/Cumming/Johansson


#30 Cisneros/Seefried/Edwards
#31 Gomez/Farnbacher/Giermaziak
#66 Keating/Faulkner/Stanton