BRDC Announce 2013 ‘SuperStars’ Line-Up

1 Mins read

The British Racing Drivers’ Club have announced fifteen drivers will be supported by their ‘SuperStars’ programme in 2013.

Eight drivers are being retained in the scheme, with seven new drivers being inducted for the first time.

Reigning Formula Renault NEC champion Jake Dennis, NEC runner-up Jordan King, Star Mazda champion Jack Hawksworth, Auto GP champion Adrian Quaife-Hobbs, BTCC rookie Sam Tordoff, Renault Clio Cup UK champion Jack Goff and Ginetta GT Supercup runner-up Tom Sharp have joined the scheme.

They join existing members Ben Barker (Porsche Carrera Cup GB), Dean Stoneman (Porsche Carrera Cup GB), Jack Harvey (GP3), Alex Lynn (European Formula 3), Jolyon Palmer (GP2), Oliver Rowland (Eurocup Formula Renault), Alexander Sims (Blancpain Endurance Series) and Alex Brundle (World Endurance Championship).

“We always find it hard to make the final decision but after careful consideration we are delighted that we have so many talented drivers to work with,” ssaid BRDC SuperStars Director Tim Harvey. “It reinforces our commitment to the sport and the benefits that the BRDC can add to the careers of up and coming British talent. I am particularly pleased to be welcoming seven new drivers to the programme this year.”

The SuperStars scheme supports Britain’s brightest racing talents through an extensive training programme, which includes physical and mental training, career guidance, sponsorship advice, media and PR training, and seminars and workshops with BRDC Members.

The programme is running for it’s sixth year. Sam Bird is remaining as a BRDC SuperStars ambassador in 2013.

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
Formula 1OtherW Series

W Series Announce Hard Rock International as Title Sponsor for Miami

1 Mins read
W Series announce that Hard Rock International will be its title sponsor for the season’s first double header at supported Miami Formula One Grand Prix weekend.
Formula 1OtherW Series

W Series Signs 3-Year Partnership Deal with Sky

1 Mins read
W Series announces a three-year partnership deal with broadcaster Sky which will cover footage of all 10 races. The deal will continue until the championship’s fifth season in 2024.
British GTOther

Drama as red flag complicates Round Two at Oulton

5 Mins read
Kelvin Fletcher brought the McLaren he shares with Martin Plowman home for Paddock Motorsport’s first overall win in the British GT Championship.