Spirit Of Daytona Racing Continue Strong Form At Barber Motorsports Park

Spirit of Daytona Racing ended the Rolex 24 with a top five, as Troy Flis aimed for

Spirit of Daytona Racing secured their fourth successive Barber Motorsports Park front-row start in the  Rolex Series following qualifying for the Porsche 250.

Ricky Taylor took the #90 Corvette DP to the top two with a quick time of 1:32.509 seconds. Taylor will open the two hour event before handing over to team-mate Richard Westbrook, as the team target another victory at Barber, having won in 2012.

“This track’s always been good to us,” said team owner Troy Flis. “I got my first pole when coming back to Grand-Am, in the Continental Challenge, I think it was one of the first years Barber was here, so this track has always been good for us. It’s a great facility, and we really like it. We had a car today that was really close, the competition as you can see is on top of everybody. I think it was just about when your tires came in and then managing the traffic, but it is great to start on the front row again.”

Pole position seemed to be on the cards for Taylor, but late traffic played havoc with his time, forcing him to slow in his final flying lap.

“We have a pole car but it was unfortunate that we didn’t get to show it.” said Taylor. “We had a lap going that would have put us well above for the pole I think, but then Yacaman just blocked us at the end so I’m just frustrated. But at the same time I’m hopeful for tomorrow and we’ll look to bounce back after a rough outing at Texas.”