Detroit Qualifying Gives Jordan Taylor First DP Pole

Wayne Taylor Racing crashed out of the lead on the Rolex Series' Detroit Debut (Credit: Grand-Am)

Jordan Taylor took his first career Daytona Prototype pole position from qualifying for the Rolex Series’ Chevrolet Grand-Am 200 on Detroit’s Belle Isle.

Taylor, in his first full season with Wayne Taylor Racing, lapped the 2.35 mile street track in 1:27.675 to put the #10 Velocity WorldWide Corvette DP he shares with Max Angelelli on pole in an all Corvette front row ahead of twice 2013 pole man and series qualifying record holder Jon Fogarty.

Fittingly Corvettes won five of the top six spots on the grid, the lone interloper the Starworks Motorsport Ford-Riley of Ryan Dalziel and Alex Popow third fastest. Behind the GM parade points leaders Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas qualified seventh fastest, though just eight tenths down on Taylor’s pole winning lap.

As Chevrolet dominated DP qualifying Ferrari held sway in the GT class with three of the top four places in class going to the Grand-Am variant of the 458. Max Papis was the fastest man in the R.Ferri/AIM Motorsport car he shares with Jeff Segal with Boris Said upholding honour of the race’s title sponsor by running with the Prancing Horses to take second in the Marsh Racing Corvette.

Jeff Westphal for Scuderia Corsa and the AIM Autosport FXDD of Emil Assentato and Anthony Lazzaro completed the top four ahead of the Stevenson Motorsports Camaro, Robin Liddell and John Edwards twice race winners already this season after just four races.

Tom Long and Sylvain Tremblay’s Mazda 6 will start from pole for the GX class, his best time 1.5 seconds faster than the BGB Motorsports Porsche Cayman.