TT 2013: Dunlop Double Maintains Unbeaten Record

Michael Dunlop took his record at the 2013 Isle of Man TT to three wins from three starts after taking victory in both the Supersport and Superstock races to take place on Monday. The Ulsterman, who had three TT wins to his name coming into this year’s meeting, has now doubled that tally with plenty of racing still to be done this week.

The first Supersport race of the day kicked off Monday’s action and Dunlop raced into a four second lead on lap one ahead of Bruce Anstey and his brother William and the gap would extend to nearly ten on lap two as Michael caught the second-placed New Zealander on the road. The top three places remained unchanged through to the finish with the Dunlop brothers sharing a TT podium for the first time despite a late charge from John McGuinness which threatened to reel in William’s Milwaukee Yamaha at one point.

After equalling the TT victory tally of his father Robert in the Supersport race, Michael went one ahead in Superstock with another exceptional performance. Gary Johnson ensured he didn’t have it all his own way, leading by just under three seconds heading into the final lap but just when he needed to, Dunlop pulled the pin and a Superstock lap record at 131.220mph would assure him of victory. His cause was aided by an oil leak on Johnson’s Kawasaki with the gap between them sixteen seconds in the end.

John McGuinness returned to the podium with third with Dean Harrison, Bruce Anstey and James Hillier next up. Tyco Suzuki had a race to forget though with Guy Martin ruled out by a fuel pump problem which occurred shortly after incurring a 30 second penalty for speeding in the pitlane. Josh Brookes didn’t fare much better either after a chain tension problem forced him into an unscheduled stop and relegating him to 46th.


2013 Isle of Man TT fuelled by Monster Energy
Monster Energy Supersport Race One Result (4 Laps)
Pos Rider Team Time Avg Speed
1 Michael Dunlop MD Racing 1:12:20.162 125.182mph
2 Bruce Anstey HM Plant Honda by Padgetts 1:12:30.520 124.884mph
3 William Dunlop Milwaukee Yamaha 1:12:43.602 124.510mph
4 John McGuinness HM Plant Honda by Padgetts 1:12:50.749 124.306mph
5 James Hillier Quattro Plant Kawasaki 1:13:13.320 123.668mph
6 Guy Martin Tyco Suzuki 1:13:17.846 123.540mph
Royal London 360 Superstock Race Result (4 Laps)
1 Michael Dunlop MD Racing 1:10:37.404 128.218mph
2 Gary Johnson Lincs Lifting Ltd 1:10:53.981 127.718mph
3 John McGuinness HM Plant Honda by Padgetts 1:11:24.207 126.817mph
4 Dean Harrison RC Express Racing by MSS 1:11:44.459 126.221mph
5 Bruce Anstey HM Plant Honda by Padgetts 1:11:56.895 125.857mph
6 James Hillier Quattro Plant Kawasaki 1:12:43.778 124.505mph