TT 2013: Dunlop Opens With Superbike Victory

Michael Dunlop took the first solo victory of the 2013 Isle of Man TT after winning the Dainese Superbike race, his first for Honda, doing so 30 years on from his uncle Joey Dunlop achieving the same feat. Cameron Donald was the nearest challenger in second with John McGuinness overcoming a mid-race penalty to take third.

The identity of the winner was never in doubt from the moment the race got underway with the Honda TT Legends’ rider pulling three seconds clear of Guy Martin on lap one, extending his advantage over the rest of the field to forty seconds by the finish. Donald was a comfortable second but McGuinness made a critical error during his second pitstop, breaking the speed limit, and getting a one-minute penalty which would ultimately cost him a shot victory. He did fight back to third ahead of Martin though with Conor Cummins and Michael Rutter completing the top six.

Dunlop’s success was the story of the day and the Ulsterman was well aware of the significance of his Superbike victory.

“The Superbike was the main goal for me. It’s been a dream of mine and it honestly hasn’t sunk in yet that I’ve won it. I never got to ride with Joey so when I caught John on the road in the tribute livery it was kind of weird and I had to think twice that it wasn’t Joey.

“John was so smooth and he’s taken over the title of King of the Mountain, so to sit behind him and follow those lines was just fantastic. It was a very special moment. The Superbike was just unbelievable, it handled lovely and I can’t thank Honda and the team enough.”

James Hillier was seventh for Quattro Plant Kawasaki ahead of Bruce Anstey and William Dunlop while Josh Brookes’ sensational TT debut continued, becoming the fastest newcomer in history on his way to tenth.


2013 Isle of Man TT fuelled by Monster Energy – Dainese Superbike Race Result (6 Laps)
Pos Rider Team Time Replica
1 Michael Dunlop Honda TT Legends 1:45:29.980 Silver
2 Cameron Donald Wilson Craig Racing 1:46:10.917 Silver
3 John McGuinness Honda TT Legends 1:46:51.907 Silver
4 Guy Martin Tyco Suzuki 1:46:58.894 Silver
5 Conor Cummins Milwaukee Yamaha 1:47:30.929 Silver
6 Michael Rutter Honda TT Legends 1:47:34.670 Silver
7 James Hillier Quattro Plant Kawasaki 1:47:44:791 Silver
8 Bruce Anstey HM Plant Honda by Padgetts 1:48:03.974 Silver
9 William Dunlop Milwaukee Yamaha 1:48:58.482 Silver
10 Josh Brookes Tyco Suzuki 1:49:39.593 Silver
11 Dean Harrison RC Express Racing by MSS 1:49:56.412 Silver
12 Steve Mercer BMW Racing Team 1:51:09.062 Bronze
13 Lee Johnston East Coast Construction 1:52:42.309 Bronze
14 Dan Kneen Marks Bloom Racing 1:52.50.710 Bronze
15 Ben Wylie AFC Motorsport/PerCup Coffee Compa 1:52:54.597 Bronze
16 Jamie Hamilton KMR Kawasaki powered by Vauxhall 1:52:56.779 Bronze
17 Robert Barber Swinton Bikes 1:53:12.738 Bronze
18 Ian Mackman Norton Motorcycles 1:53.48.509 Bronze
19 Brian McCormack KMR Kawasaki powered by Vauxhall 1:53:58.376 Bronze
20 Ian Lougher ILR 1:54:18.198 Bronze
21 Mark Parrett C and C Ltd 1:54.18.683 Bronze
22 Paul Owen Team #98 1:55:00.072 Bronze
23 Jonathan Howarth Sheff Pack Kawasaki 1:55:14.570 Bronze
24 Paul Shoesmith Ice Valley by Motorslave Trade 1:55:19.832 Bronze
25 Steve Heneghan Quattro Plant Kawasaki 1:55:56.120 Bronze
26 Grant Wagstaff Ducks Cross Racing 1:56:01.042 Bronze
27 Chris Petty Moto Breakers Doncaster 1:56:04.230 Bronze