European RallycrossRallycross

FIA European Rallycross Round 7 – Bakkerud Takes Back To Back Wins

2 Mins read
Andreas Bakkerud claimed his second RallycrossRX win in succession at round seven of the FIA European Rallycross Championship presented by Monster Energy held at Loheac, France.Bakkerud shared the front row of the final with Petter Solberg, the pair both having won their semi-finals. Solberg made the best start, winning the Monster Energy Supercharge Award for being first to the first corner with Bakkerud hot on his heels.
Timur Timerzyanov made a great start from the back row of the grid to run three abreast with middle row starters Tanner Foust and Davy Jeanney into the first corner. Jeanney took his joker lap at the first opportunity on lap one, removing himself from the mid-pack battle. Bakkerud tried to pass Solberg on lap two, he took the lead briefly before running wide handing the place back to Solberg.
Bakkerud tried the next move again on lap three and made it stick to seize the lead.Timerzyanov took his joker on lap two, returning to the main circuit in last place behind French wildcard Gaetan Serazin. Solberg was next to take the extra route of the circuit on lap four, returning to the main track still in second position. Bakkerud increased his lead, able to take the joker in the closing stages and maintain his advantage.
As contact was made further back between Foust and Timerzyanov, Bakkerud claimed the win by a margin of 2.5 seconds.“What a crazy race. I was pushing to the limit. Petter was really fast off the line but then I think he overheated his tyres too early. This is amazing, the whole event has been huge” said a delighted Bakkerud.
Nine-time World Rally Champion Sebastien Loeb finished semi-final two in fourth place behind Timerzyanov, missing out on a place in the final by just four tenths of a second;
“It’s been a great atmosphere here in Loheac, there have been many spectators and it’s always nice to drive at home in France, in front of my fans.”British World Rally star Kris Meeke was fast all weekend but contact with other cars ultimately ruled him out of contention in the heats.
“It’s disappointing not to make the semi-finals, we had a few problems through the weekend, but when you’re here setting fastest laps in one of these cars it certainly wets your appetite to do more.”
For the fifth time this season Super1600 was headed by Reinis Nitiss, who took maximum points home from France, although he was hounded all weekend by one-off team mate for the event Steven Bossard. The pair were at their closest in the final, where they crossed the line just three tenths apart. Former French Super1600 champion David Oliver completed the podium ahead of the Citroen C2’s of Maximilien Eveno, Eric Faren and Laurant Chartrain.
TouringCar was again claimed by Irish driver Derek Tohill who dominated the category through every stage of the event before winning the final with a lights-to-flag victory. Winner of round three in Hungary Daniel Lundh finished second with another accomplished driver while Roman Castoral came home third. Roger Enlund finished fourth with a sick sounding car, while Koen Pauwels also had problems in fifth. Robin Larsson was involved in contact with Castoral in the middle of the race that caused him to spin and drop to last position.
Related posts
FIA World RallycrossOff RoadRallycross

Kristoffersson Wins Controversial Final on Barcelona Day Two

2 Mins read
Johan Kristoffersson has finally broken his Sunday curse and taken a win on a Sunday after a controversial eighth round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship in Barcelona.
FIA World RallycrossOff RoadRallycross

Ekström Takes Top Qualifier on Day Two in Barcelona

4 Mins read
A great recovery after yesterday’s struggles secured Mattias Ekström the Top Qualifier spot in Sunday’s round of the 2020 FIA World Rallycross Championship in Spain.
FIA World RallycrossOff RoadRallycross

Timmy Hansen Takes Stunning Win on Day One in Barcelona

2 Mins read
A great tyre strategy combined with an amazing drive from Timmy Hansen saw him secure his first win of the year in round seven of the FIA World Rallycross Championship in Barcelona.

Leave a Reply