ESM Sign Three Aces For North American Endurance Championship

1 Mins read
Extreme Speed Motorsports (Credit: Dontea Allen)

ESM Patrón has announced three star drivers for the four races that make up the North American Endurance Championship (NAEC) that makes part of the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship (USCC).

Simon Pagenaud, David Brabham and Anthony Lazzaro will aid the team at Daytona, Sebring, Petit Le Mans and Watkins Glen in a combination that will be explained below.

Brabham, a former class champion in the ALMS P1 category, will join the TUSCC field and the #01 of Ryan Dalziel and Scott Sharp at Daytona, Sebring and Petit as the teams third driver in an ever expanding Prototype (P) field.

The Australian already has experience with the team, taking ESM to a fifth place class finish at Sebring this year and a second place class finish at this years Petit.

Pagenaud, who finished third in this years IndyCar series, and team regular Lazzaro will alternate third driver duties in the #02 of Ed Brown and Johannes van Overbeek on an almost alternating schedule. Pagenaud and Lazzaro will share driving duties at the season opener at Daytona  International Speedway before they separate with Pagenaud taking the drives at Sebring and Petit with Lazzaro taking the Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen.

Indeed Simon Pagenaud has good experience of top flight prototypes alongside his open wheel experience. It was alongside Brabham at the Patrón Highcroft team in a HPD P1 that they took the ALMS championship.

Related posts

Austin Dillon, Salih Yoluc join RWR Eurasia and Cody Ware for 2021 Rolex 24

2 Mins read
2018 Daytona 500 winner Austin Dillon and reigning 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Salih Yoluç will join 2019 Asian Le Mans champion Cody Ware in the RWR Eurasia entry for the 2021 Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona.

Chase Elliott joins Action Express for Rolex 24 debut alongside Mike Conway, Pipo Derani, Felipe Nasr

2 Mins read
Reigning NASCAR Cup champion Chase Elliott will make his Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona début for Action Express Racing, sharing the #31 Cadillac DPi-V.R with Mike Conway, Pipo Derani, and Felipe Nasr.
FeaturesFIA WECFormula EIMSA

The Audi Story, Part 3: Racing into the Future

3 Mins read
In the final instalment of The Audi Story, TheCheckeredFlag looks over Audi’s recent racing history, its move into electric racing and where the marque will go next.

Leave a Reply