Lynn Wins F3 Grand Prix On Streets Of Macau

by Joe Hudson
Lynn (#10) completed a double win on the Macau weekend (Credit: GCS)

Prema Powerteam driver Alex Lynn has won the prestigious season ending Macau Grand Prix, leading home Antonio Felix Da Costa in a nail biting race.

Just over one second separated Lynn from Da Costa behind for the majority of the race, and with the Guia circuit being more than 6km long the pressure on the young Brit’s shoulders – in only his second Macau visit – must have been massive.

“I can’t really put it into words,” said the Theodore Racing by Prema Powerteam driver.

“I’ve dreamed of winning this race and ever since I left here finishing third [last year]. All I wanted to do is come back here and win and I can’t believe I’ve actually done it.”

Indeed Da Costa should be pleased with his efforts at the circuit, starting fourth he made up one position thanks to Felix Rosenqvist retiring on the very first lap. Then after a safety car for a massive crash (John Bryant-Meisner hit the barriers at Mandarin Oriental and at the same time Sean Geleal span behind the crash and was collected by Lucas Auer) Da Costa picked up another place thanks to a slow to restart by Pipo Derani.

Indeed Derani then lost third place to Raffaele Marciello but managed to gain it back four laps from the end after Marciello hit the barriers at R Bend.

Behind them, and finishing fourth and fifth, were a pair of Brits. First of the pair was Threebond with T-Sport‘s Alexander Sims who held off the best placed rookie and fastest lap setter Jordan King.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More