Packed TUDOR Championship Entry List Released

3 Mins read

Thirteen full season entries in the Prototype class headline the list of competitors for the inaugural TUDOR United SportsCar Championship. They are followed by another dozen full time entries in the Prototype Challenge class.

The pair of GT classes look no less competitive, with ten full time entries in the GT Le Mans category and a whopping 25 cars set for the GT Daytona class.

As promised the series, the product of the amalgamation of the American Le Mans Series and Rolex Series combines the best of both series, the premier class a perfect illustration with both the Rolex Series winning Wayne Taylor Racing team and ALMS champions Pickett Racing set for a full season in 2014.

Wayne Taylor Racing are one of a number of teams to put their faith in the modified Daytona Prototype design, staying with the Chevrolet Corvette DP that they took to the title this season. With the new series closed to P1 machinery Pickett Racing will have to use a new car for next season, though their choice remains unknown, appearing on the entry list as TBA.

As well as Wayne Taylor Racing, Action Express Racing, Chip Ganassi Racing, Michael Shank Racing and Spirit of Daytona Racing also enter the series with Daytona Prototypes, the Ganassi and Shank crews with Ford EcoBoost powered Rileys beside the Corvette DP designs of the other teams.

Having run a Corvette in the GT class of the Rolex Series in 2013 Marsh Racing step up to the P class with a Corvette DP.

The GAINSCO/Bob Stallings Racing team, winners when the Rolex Series raced at Circuit of the Americas in March scale back to a campaign limited to the four North American Endurance Championship (NAEC) races – the Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona, Mobil 1 12 Hours of Sebring, Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen and Petit Le Mans. Chip Ganassi Racing and Action Express Racing’s plans for 2014 include a second car for the same four races that form a championship within a championship. 8Star Motorsports, who entered the Rolex Series with a Corvette DP in 2013 are kept to the reserve list as are Starworks Motorsport and Project Libre, who plan to run an LMP2-spec Radical in the series.

Extreme Speed Motorsports, amid off season expansion, are granted entry for a pair of HPD ARX-03b, with SpeedSource entering a pair of SKYACTIV-D Smart Diesel powered Mazdas. LMP2 class champions in the FIA World Endurance Championship OAK Racing will also join the season with a single Nissan powered Morgan in the championship.

The third element of the P class is the DeltaWing Racing Cars run DeltaWing DWC13 slated for the full season.

The PC class includes two car efforts from Starworks Motorsport, Level 5 Motorsports, RSR Racing and BAR1 Motorsports. Champions of the class in this year’s ALMS CORE Autosport enter a single car as do PR1/Mathiasen Motorsport, Performance Tech Motorsports and 8Star Motorsports.

Two car works teams from Corvette and Porsche take the headlines in GTLM, with BMW Team RLL and SRT Motorsports also bringing a pair of works supported cars to the class. For the NAEC races they will be joined by a single Aston Martin Racing entry. Having returned to racing for last season Risi Competizione continue into the TUDOR Championship while Petit Le Mans winners Team Falken Tire also return with a brand new Porsche alongside the works entries.

It is Porsches that dominated the GTD class, with 11 cars from the Stuttgart brand set to line-up in the class. That number includes single cars from the Magnus Racing and Alex Job Racing stables, as well as two cars each from Park Place Motorsports and Dempsey Racing, who join the class having raced in the GTC class of the ALMS in 2013

There are five Audi R8 LMS listed. Though not as well represented in terms of numbers compared to their pseudo-stablemates at Porsche with Flying Lizard Motorsports and Paul Miller Racing joining the Audi ranks beside GMG Racing and FallLine Motorsports the machine that won the GT class at Daytona in 2013 is likely to be among the front runners again in 2014.

TRGAMR enter with two Aston Martin Vantage GT3, Riley Motorsports with a single SRT Viper GT3-R having headed the class on several occasions during November’s test sessions at Sebring and Daytona. Rolex Series GT stalwarts Turner Motorsport remain with BMW but swap from an M3 to a Z4.

After Scuderia Corsa won the GT class of the Rolex Series with driver Alessandro Balzan the team enter a pair of Ferrari 458. Level 5 Motorsports have a single Ferrari on the entry list, with another on the reserve list for the class. Spirit of Race will add another two 458 to the grid for the NAEC races, a cooperative effort between SMP Racing and Extreme Speed Motorsports another for the Rolex 24 at Daytona where the series starts on January 25-26.

Before that, however, the teams will convene at Daytona International Speedway for the ‘Roar Before the 24’ test session on January 3-5.

Related posts

NBC to shut down NBCSN by end of 2021, motorsports like NASCAR and IndyCar among affected

4 Mins read
NBC plans to end NBCSN before the end of 2021. Motorsports like NASCAR, IndyCar, IMSA, and MotoGP, which have races on the network, will have to look for alternatives in the NBC family like USA Network.

1,000 Miles of Sebring Cancelled, Portimao to Host WEC Season Opener

2 Mins read
Due to the Covid-19 global pandemic, the FIA World Endurance Championship 1,000 Miles of Sebring has been cancelled and replaced with the 8 Hours of Portimao.
24 Hours of Le MansIMSA

Porsche RSR set for return to IMSA as Proton Competition enter series

2 Mins read
MacNeil, Lietz, Estre and Bruni lead Proton Competition’s IMSA entry as the Porsche 911 RSR returns to American race tracks.

Leave a Reply