2014 Rolex 24 at Daytona: Hour 14 Update

2 Mins read

Racing continued into the night, with the drivers continuing to keep a steady rhythm deep into the night to survive as the teams look to sunrise for the final stretch of the race.

The session saw the tenth and eleventh full course cautions of the race just after the halfway point of the hour, as the #0 Deltawing in the hands of Katherine Legge ended up against the wall on the exit of the bus stop, with Chris Cumming in the #35 RSR Oreca being hauled back to the pits after stopping on track.

The battle for overall honours saw the emerging battle in the DP category, with Sebastian Bourdais leading for the majority of the hour, taking over from Christian Fittitpaldi in the #5 Action Express Racing Corvette DP, with Ganassi Racing’Tony Kannan and Taylor Racing‘s Max Angelelli also in hot pursuit, which heated up as the green flag was waved as the hour came to a close.

The Deltawing went behind the wall for repairs due to a lack of drive, according to Legge, along with the #60 Mike Shank Racing Riley-Ford going into the garage as well for a gearbox issue that has put them down the field.

The PC category was still showing that the battle between the #54 CORE Autosport and the #25 8Star Motorsports entries, as this fight could end up going right to the wire with time ticking away.

Corvette Racing‘s Oliver Gavin was pushing hard to get back in touch with the duo of Porsche North America 911 RSRs, but led the GTLM class at the end of the hour. The British driver leapfrogged the pair after class leader Jorg Bergmeister was issued with a penalty for running over pit crew equipment. The #3 Corvette was a retirement, as the overheating issues became terminal, giving the team a DNF after a long run into the night.

The GTD Class saw the Level 5 #555 Ferrari 458 leading the way, as the Scuderia Corse 458 remained in second ahead of the Snow Racing Porsche 911, with the Italian thoroughbreds running consistently well during the most important part of the race itself.

A further statement was issued in light of the #99 Gainsco Racing driver Memo Gidley, as the driver has had surgery on his left arm and leg, and is currently under observation. Rizi Competitione‘s Matteo Malucelli has also been reported to be conscious, but has suffered a concussion as a result of the impact.

2014 Rolex 24 at Daytona standings after 14 hours

#5 Action Express Racing – Corvette DP – Barbosa/Fittipaldi/Bourdais/Frisselle
#02 Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates – Riley-Ford – Dixon/Kanaan/Franchitti/Larson
#10 – Wayne Taylor Racing – Corvette DP – W. Taylor/R. Taylor/J. Taylor/Angelelli

#54 CORE Autosport – ORECA FLM09 – Bennett/Gue/Braun/Wilkins
#25 8Star Motorsports – ORECA FLM09 – Potolicchio/Kimber-Smith/Marsal/Huff
#87 BAR1 Motorsports – ORECA FLM09 – Rayhall/Kovacic/Bielefield/Kearby/Kasemets

#4 Corvette Racing – Corvette C7.R – Gavin/Milner/Liddell
#912 Porsche North America – Porsche 911 RSR – Long/Christensen/Bergmeister
#911 Porsche North America – Porsche 911 RSR – Tandy/Lietz/Pilet

#555 Level 5 Motorsport – Ferrari 458 – Ticker/Sweedler/Bell/Segal/Per Guidi
#63 Scuderia Corsa – Ferrari 458 – Balzan/Westphal/Vilander/Case                            #58 Snow Racing – Porsche 911 GT – Snow/Heylen/Seefried

Related posts

Austin Dillon, Salih Yoluc join RWR Eurasia and Cody Ware for 2021 Rolex 24

2 Mins read
2018 Daytona 500 winner Austin Dillon and reigning 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Salih Yoluç will join 2019 Asian Le Mans champion Cody Ware in the RWR Eurasia entry for the 2021 Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona.

Chase Elliott joins Action Express for Rolex 24 debut alongside Mike Conway, Pipo Derani, Felipe Nasr

2 Mins read
Reigning NASCAR Cup champion Chase Elliott will make his Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona début for Action Express Racing, sharing the #31 Cadillac DPi-V.R with Mike Conway, Pipo Derani, and Felipe Nasr.
FeaturesFIA WECFormula EIMSA

The Audi Story, Part 3: Racing into the Future

3 Mins read
In the final instalment of The Audi Story, TheCheckeredFlag looks over Audi’s recent racing history, its move into electric racing and where the marque will go next.

Leave a Reply