2014 Rolex 24 at Daytona: Hour 15 Update

1 Mins read

Wayne Taylor Racing continued to lead the way as the 2014 Rolex 24 at Daytona completed its fifteenth hour.

Once again, the majority of the hour was spent under caution, but that was not before one of the most thrilling lead battles of the race so far. Max Angelelli, Tony Kanaan and Sebastien Bourdais provided the action, with the #10 Wayne Taylor Racing machine taking the lead from Bourdais in a fantastic three wide move, using a backmarker to his advantage.

While the DPs were battling in the top class, the GTD lead battle also began to hot up as the Level 5 Motorsports and Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 458s fought nose-to-tail. Eventually the #555 made its way past and began to pull out a slight margin.

The races within the GTLM and PC categories continued as they had from the previous hour, with only pitstops under caution causing any major changes in positions. The 8Star Motorsports entry led in PC, while GTLM continued to see a Porsche 1-2.

2014 Rolex 24 at Daytona standings after 15 hours

#10 Wayne Taylor Racing – Corvette DP – W. Taylor/R. Taylor/J. Taylor/Angelelli
#5 Action Express Racing – Corvette DP – Barbosa/Fittipaldi/Bourdais/Frisselle
#9 Action Express Racing – Corvette DP – Frisselle/Frisselle/Martin/Giroux

#25 8Star Motorsports – ORECA FLM09 – Potolicchio/Kimber-Smith/Marsal/Huff
#54 CORE Autosport – ORECA FLM09 – Bennett/Gue/Braun/Wilkins
#38 Performance Tech Racing – ORECA FLM09 – Booth/Drissi/Casagrande/Campos/Matos

#911 Porsche North America – Porsche 911 – Tandy/Lietz/Pilet
#912 Porsche North America – Porsche 911 – Long/Christenson/Bergmeister
#4 Corvette Racing – Corvette C7.R – Gavin/Milner/Liddell

#555 Level 5 Motorsport – Ferrari 458 – Ticker/Sweedler/Bell/Segal/Per Guidi
#63 Scuderia Corsa – Ferrari 458 – Balzan/Westphal/Vilander/Case
#45 Flying Lizard Racing – Audi R8 LMS – Canache Jr/Pumpelly/Pappas/Winkelhock

Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansIMSA

Porsche RSR set for return to IMSA as Proton Competition enter series

2 Mins read
MacNeil, Lietz, Estre and Bruni lead Proton Competition’s IMSA entry as the Porsche 911 RSR returns to American race tracks.

Austin Dillon, Salih Yoluc join RWR Eurasia and Cody Ware for 2021 Rolex 24

2 Mins read
2018 Daytona 500 winner Austin Dillon and reigning 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Salih Yoluç will join 2019 Asian Le Mans champion Cody Ware in the RWR Eurasia entry for the 2021 Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona.

Chase Elliott joins Action Express for Rolex 24 debut alongside Mike Conway, Pipo Derani, Felipe Nasr

2 Mins read
Reigning NASCAR Cup champion Chase Elliott will make his Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona début for Action Express Racing, sharing the #31 Cadillac DPi-V.R with Mike Conway, Pipo Derani, and Felipe Nasr.

Leave a Reply