2014 Rolex 24 at Daytona: Hour 16 Update

2 Mins read
2014 Rolex 24 at Daytona (Courtesy of IMSA)

Max Angelelli and Wayne Taylor Racing continued to lead the Rolex 24 at Daytona, holding a 13 second lead over the best of the chasing Action Express Racing entrants in the hands of Joao Barbosa.

Angelelli was able to extend his lead, seemingly at wil, pulling out to a 17 second advantage before he outbraked himself at the Bus Stop chicane, an offence that requires a driver to stop before rejoining the race track. The momentary slip cost the Italian six seconds, but even after that he was able to add more to his margin before the close of the hour.

Further down the depth chart of the P class there were further problems for the already delayed Michael Shank Racing entry, AJ Allmendinger bringing the car to garage, the team suspecting that the loss of first gear had further damaged the gearbox on the Ford EcoBoost powered Riley.

Their problems promoted Nick Tandy, in the GTLM lead, to seventh overall after the Briton took the class lead from Porsche North America teammate Patrick Long before both driver made their scheduled pitstops. The #4 Corvette remained third in class, on the same lap as the Porsche pairing, but nearly a half minute behind Long.

CORE Autosport led the PC class as the hour ended, though Rob Huff did momentarily take the lead for 8Star Motorsports before handing over to Tom Kimber-Smith as the CORE squad took the lead.

Alessandro Pier Guidi led GTD at the end of hour in the #555 Level 5 Motorsports Ferrari with Spencer Pumpelly second for Flying Lizard Motorsports in a race which has been troublesome for the Audi teams seeking to give the Ingolstadt marque a repeat at Daytona.

Their woes were added to by problems for the Paul Miller Racing car – the strongest of R8 contingent to this point.

2014 Rolex 24 at Daytona standings after 16 hours

#10 Wayne Taylor Racing – Corvette DP – W. Taylor/R. Taylor/J. Taylor/Angelelli
#5 Action Express Racing – Corvette DP – Barbosa/Fittipaldi/Bourdais/Frisselle
#9 Action Express Racing – Corvette DP – Frisselle/Frisselle/Martin/Giroux

#54 CORE Autosport – ORECA FLM09 – Bennett/Gue/Braun/Wilkins
#25 8Star Motorsports – ORECA FLM09 – Potolicchio/Kimber-Smith/Marsal/Huff
#7 Starworks Motorsport – ORECA FLM09 – Popow/Fuentes/Tutumlu/Marcelli/Kaffer

#911 Porsche North America – Porsche 911 – Tandy/Lietz/Pilet
#912 Porsche North America – Porsche 911 – Long/Christenson/Bergmeister
#4 Corvette Racing – Corvette C7.R – Gavin/Milner/Liddell

#555 Level 5 Motorsport – Ferrari 458 – Ticker/Sweedler/Bell/Segal/Per Guidi
#45 Flying Lizard Racing – Audi R8 LMS – Canache Jr/Pumpelly/Pappas/Winkelhock
#63 Scuderia Corsa – Ferrari 458 – Balzan/Westphal/Vilander/Case

2902 posts

About author
James is our Diet-Coke fuelled writer and has been with TCF pretty much since day 1, he can be found frequenting twitter at @_JBroomhead
Related posts

Robert Wickens set for racing return, joins Herta in IMSA MPC

2 Mins read
Nearly 4 years after being paralysed in an IndyCar crash, Robert Wickens will return to racing in the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge for Bryan Herta Autosport. His car has a special hand-control system to help him accelerate/brake.
24 Hours of Le MansIMSASportscars

Andreas Roos steps in as Head of BMW M Motorsport with Mike Krack departure

2 Mins read
As Mike Krack follows his Formula 1 ambitions, Andreas Roos takes over the role as Head of BMW M Motorsport.

#48 Ally Cadillac returns for 2022 Endurance Cup

2 Mins read
The #48 Ally Racing Cadillac, fielded by Action Express Racing in partnership with NASCAR’s Hendrick Motorsports, will return for the 2022 IMSA Endurance Cup with Jimmie Johnson, Kamui Kobayashi, Mike Rockenfeller, and newcomer José María López.