2014 Rolex 24 at Daytona: Hour 3 Update

1 Mins read

A massive crash between the #62 Risi Competizione Ferrari and the #99 GAINSCO Corvette DP has marred the third hour of the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

The #62 – driven by Matteo Malucelli – had slowed down significantly coming out of the International Horseshoe where it was collected from behind by Memo Gidley in the #99 who was unsighted by the setting sun.

As the third hour ends, there was a red flag in place with the majority of the track between turns three and four being blocked by both car wreckage and safety/rescue vehicles which were immediately on the scene.

As this report is begin written (10:20pm UK time) the only information available is that Malucelli has gone to the infield medical centre and Gidley is being taken straight to hospital by ambulance

The Checkered Flag will continue to update readers on Twitter on @tcfsportscars as to the state of both drivers.

The rest of the hour had gone by without incident with action up and down the field especially in the GT classes

2014 Rolex 24 at Daytona standings after 3 hours

#5 Action Express Racing – Corvette DP – Barbosa/Fittipaldi/Bourdais/Frisselle
#02 Chip Ganassi Racing – Riley-Ford Ecoboost – Dixon/Kanaan/Larson/Franchitti
#10 Wayne Taylor Racing – Corvette DP – Taylor/Taylor/Taylor/Angelelli

#08 RSR Racing – ORECA FLM 09 – Cumming/Tagliani/Mitchell/Daly
#52 PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports – ORECA FLM 09 – Guasch/Cheng/Jeanette/Montecalvo
#7 Starworks Motorsport – ORECA FLM09 – Popow/Fuentes/Tutumlu/Marcelli/Kaffer

#91 SRT Motorsports – SRT Viper – Farnbacher/Goossens/Hunter-Reay
#911 Porsche North America – Porsche 911 RSR – Tandy/Lietz/Pilet
#912 Porsche North America – Porsche 911 RSR – Long/Christensen/Bergmeister

#72 SMP/ESM Racing – Ferrari 458 Italia – Rotenberg/Zlobin/Mediani/Salo/Aleshin
#58 Snow Racing – Porshe 911 – Snow/Heylen/Seefried
#73 Park Place Motorsports – Porsche 911 – Lindsey/Estre/De Phillipi/Hart/Vess

Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansIMSA

Porsche RSR set for return to IMSA as Proton Competition enter series

2 Mins read
MacNeil, Lietz, Estre and Bruni lead Proton Competition’s IMSA entry as the Porsche 911 RSR returns to American race tracks.

Austin Dillon, Salih Yoluc join RWR Eurasia and Cody Ware for 2021 Rolex 24

2 Mins read
2018 Daytona 500 winner Austin Dillon and reigning 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Salih Yoluç will join 2019 Asian Le Mans champion Cody Ware in the RWR Eurasia entry for the 2021 Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona.

Chase Elliott joins Action Express for Rolex 24 debut alongside Mike Conway, Pipo Derani, Felipe Nasr

2 Mins read
Reigning NASCAR Cup champion Chase Elliott will make his Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona début for Action Express Racing, sharing the #31 Cadillac DPi-V.R with Mike Conway, Pipo Derani, and Felipe Nasr.

Leave a Reply