Seven Top Names Aiming For Rolex Glory With ESM

1 Mins read

Extreme Speed Motorsports will take on the traditional curtain raising Rolex 24 at Daytona with a pair of Honda Performance Department ARX-03b machines and seven world-class, championship winning drivers.

The 2014 running of the Rolex 24 will be the team’s third successive Rolex 24, having entered a single GT machine in 2012 and 2013, scoring a best finish of ninth in class. Following the merger of the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series and the American Le Mans Series into the new TUDOR United SportsCar Championship, ESM will field two cars in the highly competitive prototype class.

Season-long co-drivers Ryan Dalziel and team owner Scott Sharp will be joined by David Brabham at the Daytona season-opener in the #1 machine, with all three drivers having tasted success at the Rolex 24.

Meanwhile, two-time Rolex 24 winner Anthony Lazzaro and Simon Pagenaud, who took the ALMS title in 2010 alongside Brabham, will join season-long co-drivers of the #2 HPD machine, Ed Brown and Johannes van Overbeek.

The Rolex 24 not only opens the TUDOR Championship for 2014, but also forms the first round of the Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup (NAEC), a championship within a championship. The four-race Cup also includes the Twelve Hours of Sebring in March, the Six Hours of the Glen in June and October’s season-closing Petit Le Mans.

883 posts

About author
Based in Mid-Wales, James joined TCF at the start of the 2013 season, covering a range of disciplines, predominantly Motorcycle Road Racing and NASCAR. Follow him on Twitter @JCCharman
Related posts

Robert Wickens set for racing return, joins Herta in IMSA MPC

2 Mins read
Nearly 4 years after being paralysed in an IndyCar crash, Robert Wickens will return to racing in the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge for Bryan Herta Autosport. His car has a special hand-control system to help him accelerate/brake.
24 Hours of Le MansIMSASportscars

Andreas Roos steps in as Head of BMW M Motorsport with Mike Krack departure

2 Mins read
As Mike Krack follows his Formula 1 ambitions, Andreas Roos takes over the role as Head of BMW M Motorsport.

#48 Ally Cadillac returns for 2022 Endurance Cup

2 Mins read
The #48 Ally Racing Cadillac, fielded by Action Express Racing in partnership with NASCAR’s Hendrick Motorsports, will return for the 2022 IMSA Endurance Cup with Jimmie Johnson, Kamui Kobayashi, Mike Rockenfeller, and newcomer José María López.