Justin Wilson Joins Michael Shank Racing For Sebring 12 Hours

1 Mins read

Justin Wilson will return to Michael Shank Racing with Curb/Agajanian as the team makes its competition debut at Sebring International Raceway.

Entering the Mobil 1 12 Hours of Sebring, round two of the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship, Wilson will share driving duties with full-season drivers John Pew and Ozz Negri, having regularly raced for the team since taking a podium in the 2006 Rolex 24 at Daytona.

The IndyCar driver expanded his Daytona Prototype program in 2013 when he joined Michael Shank Racing for the sprint events in the second half of the year, finishing the season with a second placed result at Lime Rock Park.

“We are fortunate that the schedule worked out for us to have Justin join us not only for the race, but also for the test next week,” said team owner Mike Shank. “Having the Sebring 12 Hour on the schedule is fantastic and we are very excited about it. We also know how incredibly challenging the race can be, so to have a driver line up like this is going to be key for us. We have a race finish for the Ecoboost under our belt at Daytona, and now our goal is to just keep improving on our package, every time out.”

Despite the team making its debut at Sebring, it is confident of success, as history bodes well for Michael Shank Racing at new circuits, taking victories at Miller Motorsports Park and New Jersey Motorsports Park. However, there will be an opportunity to learn the track at an IMSA hosted test next week.

“It’s exciting to get the call and come back to race for Mike once again,” said Wilson, who has raced at Sebring twice before. “The 12 Hour is a huge event, and I’m really looking forward to it. I had a lot of fun racing the short events last year in the Daytona Prototype. It always feels natural anytime I get to race for this team, the Shank guys do a really good job and it is just a great fit. We have a little bit of unfinished business after Daytona and I’m looking forward to getting down to Sebring and getting after it.”

Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansIMSA

Porsche RSR set for return to IMSA as Proton Competition enter series

2 Mins read
MacNeil, Lietz, Estre and Bruni lead Proton Competition’s IMSA entry as the Porsche 911 RSR returns to American race tracks.

Austin Dillon, Salih Yoluc join RWR Eurasia and Cody Ware for 2021 Rolex 24

2 Mins read
2018 Daytona 500 winner Austin Dillon and reigning 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Salih Yoluç will join 2019 Asian Le Mans champion Cody Ware in the RWR Eurasia entry for the 2021 Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona.

Chase Elliott joins Action Express for Rolex 24 debut alongside Mike Conway, Pipo Derani, Felipe Nasr

2 Mins read
Reigning NASCAR Cup champion Chase Elliott will make his Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona début for Action Express Racing, sharing the #31 Cadillac DPi-V.R with Mike Conway, Pipo Derani, and Felipe Nasr.

Leave a Reply