2014 12 Hours of Sebring: Hour 10 Update

sebri2014 12 Hours of Sebring (Courtesy of IMSA)

Memo Rojas took the lead at the restart following a caution period to recover a stricken GTD Ferrari to hold the top spot with just two hours of the Mobil 1 12 Hours of Sebring remaining.

Rojas passed the #1 Extreme Speed Motorsports HPD piloted by David Brabham at turn one, and then held off the Australian through what remained to the hour in the #01 Chip Ganassi Racing Riley-Ford.

Brabham had fought up to the lead, passing Scott Pruett and Gustavo Yacaman for third and second respectively before going wheel to wheel with leader Joao Barbosa into the hairpin to take the lead.

From the lead he pitted just before the caution came out after Alessandro Balzan stopped the #63 Scuderia Corsa 458 on the Ullman Straight. While Brabham was able to return to the track under green the remainder of the Prototype field pitted under the caution shuffling the order once more.

Sage Karam had inherited the lead under caution and the Indy Lights champion narrowly avoided picking up a hefty penalty for pitting a lap early while the pits were closed. However, it was more of a temporary reprieve in terms of time lost as Scott Dixon, who took over from Karam, spun the car on the first racing lap after the green flag had released the field once more.

The PC class battle between James Gue (CORE Autosport) and David Heinemeier Hansson (RSR Racing) raged through the first half of the hour, the pair swapping positions on track. CORE Autosport led the class at the end of the hour, Colin Braun aboard the #54

Corvette Racing’s #4 led the GTLM, the #93 SRT Viper running in second at the end of the hour, picking up the place at Joerg Bergmeister’s expense, when he outbraked himself in the #912 Porsche, having to shoot down the escape road at the hairpin in order to re-join the track.

The Alex Job Racing #23 Porsche led GTD, Mario Farnbacher getting the best of a three way battle for the class lead after the caution period.

The Turner Motorsports’ BMW led the class, but was pushed back to third by Farnbacher and Marco Seefried in Magnus Racing’s #44

2014 12 Hours of Sebring class standings after 10 hours

#01 – Chip Ganassi Racing – Pruett/Rojas/Franchitti
#1 – Extreme Speed Motorsports – Brabham/Sharp/Dalziel
#10 – Wayne Taylor Racing – Taylore/Taylor/Angelelli

#54 – CORE Autosports – Bennett/Braun/Gue
#09 – RSR Racing – Ende/Junqueira/Heinemeier Hansson
#85 – JDC/Miller Motorsports – Miller/Kraut/Simpson

#4 – Corvette Racing – Gavin/Milner/Liddell
#93 – SRT Motorsports – Bell/Bomarito/Wittmer
#912 – Porsche North America – Bergmeister/Long/Christensen

#23 – Team Seattle/Alex Job Racing – James/Farnbacher/Riberas
#44 – Magnus Racing – Potter/Lally/Seefried
#94 – Turner Motorsports – Cameron/Dalla Lana/Palttala/Lewis