2014 12 Hours of Sebring: Hour 2 Update

1 Mins read
2012 12 Hours of Sebring (Courtesy of IMSA)

The 2014 Sebring 12 Hours restarted in hour two after a 59 minute Full Course Caution, with the No.0 DeltaWing of Andy Meyrick leading the way at the restart followed the by PC car of Bruno Junqueira.

However, Meyrick’s lead didn’t last for long, as the No.5 Action Express Racing Corvette DP of Joao Barbosa, and the No.6 ORECA 03 of Lucas Luhr, passed the experimental car for the race lead.

However, the No.6 Pickett Racing machine didn’t hold second for long, as the No.10 DP of Ricky Taylor passed him before going on to battle Barbosa for the lead. Meanwhile at this time in PC, Junqueira, who didn’t pit under the Full Course Caution, pitted to hand over the lead on lap 30 to Raphael Matos in the No.38.

Also at this point the GTD lead changed, with Christopher Mies in the No.46 Audi R8 LMS passing fellow Audi driver Nelson Canache the No.45.

Back at the front, however, Luhr and Taylor locked horns as the P2 and DP spec machines battled around the Florida track, with Luhr taking second place before Taylor repassed him quarter of an hour later after a titanic chase.

However, two laps later, Luhr pitted the Nissan powered ORECA to hand over to Klaus Graf, with both Barbosa and Taylor following him to pit road, handing over to Sebastien Bourdais and Max Angelelli respectively, though Bourdais lost out to Angelelli and Graf in the pits.

2014 12 Hours of Sebring class standings after 2 hours

#02 – Chip Ganassi Racing – Dixon/Kanaan/Karam
#6 – Pickett Racing/Muscle Milk – Luhr/Graff/ Mardenborough
#10 – Wayne Taylor Racing – Taylor/Taylor/Angelelli

#09 – RSR Racing – Junqueira/Ende/Heinemeier Hansson
#38 – Performance Tech Motorsports – Shears/Matos/Ostella
#25 – 8Star Motorsports – Marsal/Rayhall/Lux/Kimber-Smith

#62 – Risi Competizione – Bruni/Malucelli/Fisichella
#911 – Porsche North America – Tandy/Pilet/Lietz
#4 – Corvette Racing – Gavin/Liddell/Milner

#46 – Fall Line Motorsports – Mies/Putman/Espenlau
#23 – Alex Job Racing – James/ Farnbacher /Riberas
#94 – Tuner Motorsports – Cameron/Dalla Lana/Palttata /Lewis

Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansFeaturesFIA WECIMSA

Lamborghini Announce 2024 LMDh Program

1 Mins read
Joining the ranks of Toyota, Peugeot, Ferrari and Porsche, Lamborghini have announced they will launch a LMDh car to join the grid in 2024.
FIA WECIMSAPorsche Carrera Cup North America

Porsche Rennsport Reunion seventh edition confirmed for 2023

1 Mins read
With the last event drawing a crowd of 80,000, Porsche Cars North America have announced that Rennsport will be back in 2023.
IMSAOff Road

Larry Connor, Baja winner and sports car veteran, pilots first private spaceflight

2 Mins read
Aboard the Axiom Mission 1, the first private space mission to the ISS, is pilot Larry Connor. On the ground, Connor was one of the top SCORE International Trophy Truck Spec drivers and has experience in IMSA, Indy Lights, and Le Mans.