2014 12 Hours of Sebring: Hour 6 Update

1 Mins read
Michael Levitt for IMSA

The sixth hour of the 2014 12 Hours of Sebring was bookended by full course cautions with one stupid mistake ruining the strong racing action that took place for the middle part of the hour.

The start of the hour saw the full course yellow for Mike Rockenfeller’s Spirit of Daytona car extended because of a loose rear wheel on the Mazda Sky-Active Prototype car meaning it had to be towed round to the pits.

After the green flew it was almost a masterclass on hard, clean racing up and down the field with the Extreme Speed Motorsports HPD and the Action Express Corvette DP claiming first and second going into the final portion of the hour having followed the OAK Racing machine for a long time after Gustavo Yacaman took the lead following a tangling between two Ford DPs coming out of turn seven.

In GTLM it was a solid hour for Porsche with the Porsche North America #912 leading from the Team Falken Tire car of Marco Holzer.

In the last ten minutes of the hour, saw another massive incident involving Prototype Challenge cars. The #87 BAR1 Motorsport span at the beginning of the Ulmann Straight and try to do a quick 180 to get back going, however Gaston Kearby overcooked the spin and ended up colliding with the #08 RSR Racing machine with Alex Tagliani behind the wheel.

The result was wreckage everywhere and a full course caution, thankfully both drivers got out of their ORECA FLM09s.

2014 12 Hours of Sebring class standings after 6 hours

#1 – Extreme Speed Motorsports – Dalziel/Sharp/Brabham
#5 – Action Express Racing – Bourdais/Barbosa/Fittipaldi
#42 – OAK Racing – Brundle/Pla/Yacaman

#54 – CORE autosport – Braun/Bennett/Gue
#09 – RSR Racing – Junqueira/Ende/Heinemeier Hansson
#8 – Staworks Motorsport – Fuentes/van der Zande/Bird/Cheng

#912 – Porsche North America – Christensen/Bergmeister/Long
#93 – SRT Motorsports – Bell/Wittmer/Bomarito
#17 – Team Falken Tire – Holzer/Henzler/Sellers


#63 – Scuderia Corsa – Balzan/Case/Marcelli/Westphal
#94 – Turner Motorsports – Cameron/Dalla Lana/Palttala/Lewis
#555 – AIM Autosport – Bell/Sweedler/Segal/Mediani

Related posts

NBC to shut down NBCSN by end of 2021, motorsports like NASCAR and IndyCar among affected

4 Mins read
NBC plans to end NBCSN before the end of 2021. Motorsports like NASCAR, IndyCar, IMSA, and MotoGP, which have races on the network, will have to look for alternatives in the NBC family like USA Network.

1,000 Miles of Sebring Cancelled, Portimao to Host WEC Season Opener

2 Mins read
Due to the Covid-19 global pandemic, the FIA World Endurance Championship 1,000 Miles of Sebring has been cancelled and replaced with the 8 Hours of Portimao.
24 Hours of Le MansIMSA

Porsche RSR set for return to IMSA as Proton Competition enter series

2 Mins read
MacNeil, Lietz, Estre and Bruni lead Proton Competition’s IMSA entry as the Porsche 911 RSR returns to American race tracks.

Leave a Reply