2014 12 Hours of Sebring: Hour 9 Update

1 Mins read
Richard Dole for IMSA

The 2014 12 Hours of Sebring is getting rapidly to the sharp end, with the ninth hour going by without major incident in the second TUDOR United SportsCar Championship race.

It was the Prototype class which gave the most action, with Alex Brundle in the OAK Racing Morgan-Nissan who quickly dispatched Scott Sharp in the Extreme Speed Motorsports HPD and set his sights on the leaders.

For a while the man to beat was in the sister ESM car in the shape of Johannes van Overbeek. He was going great guns for a long period before being caught out by the setting sun on the Ulmann Straight and tangled with the Paul Miller Racing Audi R8 knocking the Honda out of the lead.

In GT Le Mans it was very much the Corvette show with the #4 leading for the majority of the hour in the hands of both Oliver Gavin and Tommy Milner who were both fighting off challenges from the #93 Viper and the #912 Porsche.

GT Daytona brought out the only Full Course Caution of the hour after the brake disc in The Racer’s Group #009 Aston Martin made a desperate bid for freedom and ground itself free through the wheel of the car before depositing itself on the racing line in the middle of turn seven.

That caution period featured the #3 Corvette go into the pits for an emergency fuel pump replacement which cost it even more laps.

In the action filled PC class there are only two runners remaining, the #09 at the hands of David Heinemeier Hansson and the #54 of James Gue.

2014 12 Hours of Sebring class standings after 9 hours

#5 – Action Express Racing – Bourdais/Barbosa/Fittipaldi
#42 – OAK Racing – Brundle/Pla/Yacaman                                                                                                                                          #01 – Chip Ganassi Racing – Pruett/Rojas/Franchitti

PC                                                                                                                                                                                                                         #09 – RSR Racing – Junqueira/Ende/Heinemeier Hansson                                                                                                            #54 – CORE autosport – Braun/Bennett/Gue

GTLM                                                                                                                                                                                                                #4 – Corvette Racing – Milner/Gavin/Liddell                                                                                                                                          #912 – Porsche North America – Christensen/Bergmeister/Long                                                                                                     #93 – SRT Motorsports – Bell/Wittmer/Bomarito

GTD                                                                                                                                                                                                                   #94 – Turner Motorsports – Cameron/Dalla Lana/Palttala/Lewis                                                                                                   #46 – Fall-line Motorsports – Putman/Espenlaub/Mies                                                                                                                   #35 – Flying Lizard Motorsport – von Moltke/Neiman/Albuquerque

Related posts

NBC to shut down NBCSN by end of 2021, motorsports like NASCAR and IndyCar among affected

5 Mins read
NBC plans to end NBCSN before the end of 2021. Motorsports like NASCAR, IndyCar, IMSA, and MotoGP, which have races on the network, will have to look for alternatives in the NBC family like USA Network.

1,000 Miles of Sebring Cancelled, Portimao to Host WEC Season Opener

2 Mins read
Due to the Covid-19 global pandemic, the FIA World Endurance Championship 1,000 Miles of Sebring has been cancelled and replaced with the 8 Hours of Portimao.
24 Hours of Le MansIMSA

Porsche RSR set for return to IMSA as Proton Competition enter series

2 Mins read
MacNeil, Lietz, Estre and Bruni lead Proton Competition’s IMSA entry as the Porsche 911 RSR returns to American race tracks.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply