McNish Wins Segrave Trophy for a Second Time

by James Charman
McNish has been part of Audi's LMP program since 2000 (Credit: Audi Motorsport)

Allan McNish has been awarded the Segrave Trophy for the second time in his career.

The Scotsman, who retired at the end of 2013 after becoming World Endurance Champion, was awarded the trophy at the Royal Automobile Club in Pall Mall in London earlier today.

Not only did McNish secure the FIA WEC crown in 2013, but he also became the first Briton to win the Tourist Trophy – awarded to the winner of the Six Hours of Silverstone, the Le Mans 24 Hours and the World Endurance Championship in the same year.

“I am extremely honoured to receive this prestigious trophy again,” said McNish. “I have tried to tick all the boxes in my racing career, and excel in every kind of racing I have taken part in. I’d also like to accept it on behalf of all those who have helped me achieve success in my career, both those in the teams I have raced with, and especially my family.”

McNish has been named in recent years as one of the world’s greatest sportscar drivers, having won the Le Mans 24 Hours three times – 1998, 2008 and 2013 – and has taken 29 outright wins and 66 podium finishes for Audi teams in 89 starts, as well as winning three American Le Mans Series titles.

“Jackie Stewart told me that this was probably one of the most prestigious trophies I could win in my career, and to win it twice is just incredible,” he added. “I was moved seeing some of the previous winners today and noting their achievements.”

“Two of the qualities we award the Segrave Trophy for are outstanding skill and courage,” said Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club, Tom Purves. “Allan certainly showed his skill and natural talent from his earliest days in a racing car. He has also proved himself in one of the toughest areas of motorsport; 24-hour endurance racing. In awarding him this trophy again, the Club is acknowledging those essential qualities as much as the considerable achievement of winning the Tourist Trophy, Le Mans and the Championship in the same season. As he retires, we honour one of this country’s great racing drivers.”

Previous holders of the trophy, named after British pilot and pre-war racer Sir Henry Segrave, the first man to hold both the land and water speed records, include Amy Johnson, Donald Campbell, Sir Jackie Stewart and Carl Fogarty.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More