Bleekemolen and Proczyk Win Wet and Wild Zandvoort Qualifying Race

Grasser - Photo Credit: Brecht Decancq Photography
Grasser - Photo Credit: Brecht Decancq Photography

Grasser Racing Lamborghini drivers Jeroen Bleekemolen and Hari Proczyk converted pole position into victory in a wet Blancpain Sprint Series qualifying race at Zandvoort.

After topping the earlier qualifying session on home soil, Bleekemolen led from the start in conditions that were good enough for slick tyres.

Light rain turned to heavy rain though, about 15 minutes into the one-hour race. Markus Winkelhock initially seemed at home as the conditions worsened, quickly going from seventh to fifth in the space of a few corners, but on the next lap he triggered a safety car when he pushed too hard in his Phoenix Racing Audi and beached it in the gravel.

The pit window opened while the safety car was out, triggering a mass invasion of the pit lane as all crews came into to swap slicks for wets and to change drivers.

Proczyk rejoined in the lead, but positions changed behind as the #84 HTP Motorsport Mercedes climbed from fourth to second and the #1 WRT Audi plummeted down to eighth having held second in the hands of Laurens Vanthoor in the first stint.

After the restart, Proczyk was able to open up a gap over Maximilian Gotz until a second safety car inside the final 15 minutes for a clash between the Reiter Lamborghini of Stefan Rosina and Ferrari of Filip Salaquarda in the fight for third.

There were exactly two minutes left on the clock when Proczyk crossed the line at the restart. Gotz spent those last two laps pressuring Proczyk but the Grasser man held on to secure his and Bleekemolen’s third straight win, after their double at Brands Hatch.

Vanthoor’s co-driver Cesar Ramos recovered well to take third at the final restart from the sister WRT car of Enzo Ide (co-driven by Rene Rast).

Two new entries completed the top six, with the Schubert BMW of Dominik Baumann and Thomas Jager ahead of the Herberth Porsche of Jaap van Lagen and Robert Renauer.

Daniel Lloyd and Sten Pentus took seventh in their Bhai Tech McLaren ahead of the second Grasser car of Sascha Halek and Stefan Landmann. The top ten was completed by the Audis of Roman Rusinov/Stephane Ortelli and Alessandro Latif/Marc Basseng.