BRDC Formula 4Formula FordFormula Renault 2.0Formula Renault BARCGB3

2014 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award Launched

1 Mins read

Nominations have opened for the 2014 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award, the prestigious award that aims to find Britain’s most promising young single-seater driver.

Following in the footsteps of former winners Jenson Button (1998), Paul Di Resta (2004) and Matt Parry (2013), the winner of the 2014 award will receive a McLaren Formula One Test, £100,000 and BRDC membership.

Possible nominees include:

Jack Aitken – 2013 Award finalist, currently eighth in Formula Renault Eurocup, one win.

Ben Barnicoat – 2014 Formula Renault NEC champion, two wins.

Sennan Fielding – Currently third in BRDC Formula 4, four wins.

Alex Gill – Currently third in Protyre Formula Renault, one win.

Jake Hughes – 2013 Award finalist, finished eighth in Formula Renault NEC.

Max Marshall – Currently third in Formula Ford GB, two wins, British F3 podium-finisher.

Struan Moore – Currently fifth in BRDC Formula 4, one win.

Seb Morris – 2013 Award finalist, finished third in Formula Renault NEC, two wins.

Matt Rao – Finished second in British Formula 3, five wins.

George Russell – Currently second in BRDC Formula 4, four wins.

Harrison Scott – Current Formula Ford GB championship leader, three wins.

To be eligible, drivers must have been 16 years old or over on 1st June 2014, and under 22 years old on 1st January 2014. They also must have been born in the UK or hold a British passport, and compete in a single-seater championship up to and including non-FIA Formula 3 and not in any higher category during the current calendar year.

To nominate a driver, email [email protected] with your suggestion, using the subject line ‘nominations’, by midday this Friday 26th September.

Nominations will then be considered by the judging panel and the six finalists will be announced early next month, ahead of the Award shoot-out tests at Silverstone.

*Eligibility and nominations information from

Avatar photo
4148 posts

About author
Simon is an experienced journalist and PR officer, who has worked in the national motorsport paddocks for over a decade, primarily on the BTCC support package.
Related posts
Formula FordTruck Racing

Oleksandr Medvedchenko among scholarship recipients from Zelenskyy

2 Mins read
Oleksandr Medvedchenko, 4× Soviet Formula Easter champion who raced Ukraine’s only European Truck Racing Championship entry, got a 2-year scholarship from President Volodymyr Zelenskyy in December.
Formula 1Formula 3GB3

Award Winner O’Sullivan Enjoys Maiden Formula 1 Test with Aston Martin at Silverstone

1 Mins read
2021 BRDC Autosport Young Driver of the Year and last year’s GB3 Championship winner Zak O’Sullivan completed his prize test with Aston Martin earlier this week at Silverstone.
Formula 3GB3

GB3 frontrunner Granfors set for FIA Formula 3 test

1 Mins read
GB3 frontrunners Joel Granfors and Roberto Faria will join the upcoming FIA Formula 3 test at Jerez this week.