Ginetta GT4 Supercup

2014 Ginetta GT4 Supercup: Season In Numbers

2 Mins read

The 2014 Michelin Ginetta GT4 Supercup will go down in the history books as a year which produced seven different race-winners, a total of twelve visitors to the podium, thirty-three different competitors and a new champion in the form of Charlie Robertson.

Robertson ended the year as the champion after a stunning maiden Supercup campaign and a look at the numbers shows he was a more than deserving winner, the HHC Motorsport notching up the most wins, podium finishes and laps led.

Alongside that, the 17 year old was the undoubted king of qualifying through the campaign. Taking top six grid starts in each of the ten qualifying sessions, a feat matched by Andrew Watson, Robertson posted six pole positions, a new Supercup record.

One table Robertson didn’t top was fastest laps, vice-champion David Pittard carding the most in a campaign which saw him lead just ten laps less than the champion.

Stalwart Carl Breeze’s dominance at Knockhill meant he secured the biggest points haul from a single weekend this year, while some impressive overtaking from his United Autosports team-mate Luke Davenport saw him gain more positions from his grid starts than anyone else.

A full breakdown of all the key statistics from the 2014 Michelin Ginetta GT4 Supercup season are below:

Robertson Gave His HHC Motorsport Team Plenty To Celebrate - Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Two Oulton Wins Started A Run Of Sixteen Robertson Podiums In Eighteen Races – Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Race Wins

Charlie Robertson – 8

David Pittard, Andrew Watson – 5

Carl Breeze – 4

Tom Oliphant, Luke Davenport – 2

Pepe Massot – 1


Podium Finishes

Charlie Robertson – 20

David Pittard, Carl Breeze, Andrew Watson – 12

Tom Oliphant – 10

Luke Davenport, Will Burns – 4

Pepe Massot, Harry Woodhead – 2

Jamie Orton, Sean Huyton, Declan Jones – 1


Laps Led

Charlie Robertson – 113 laps of 445

David Pittard – 103

Carl Breeze – 66

Andrew Watson – 64

Luke Davenport – 35

Pepe Massot – 30

Tom Oliphant – 22

Sean Huyton – 13


Fastest Laps

David Pittard – 8

Charlie Robertson – 7

Andrew Watson – 5

Carl Breeze – 4

Carl Boardley, Luke Davenport, Jamie Orton – 1


Pittard Posted Four Fastest Laps In The Final Five Races - Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Pittard Posted Four Fastest Laps In The Final Five Races – Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography


Top Six Finishes

Charlie Robertson – 23

David Pittard, Carl Breeze – 22

Andrew Watson, Tom Oliphant – 20

Will Burns – 14

Jamie Orton – 13

Luke Davenport – 12

Sean Huyton – 4

Pepe Massot, Harry Woodhead, Declan Jones – 3

Carl Boardley, Max Coates, Dennis Strandberg – 1


Pole Positions

Charlie Robertson – 6

David Pittard – 2

Andrew Watson, Carl Breeze – 1


Top Six Qualifying Results

Charlie Robertson, Andrew Watson – 10 out of 10

Carl Breeze – 9

David Pittard, Tom Oliphant, Jamie Orton – 7

Will Burns – 4

Pepe Massot, Harry Woodhead – 2

Luke Davenport, Carl Boardley – 1


Qualifying Average

Charlie Robertson – 2.3

Andrew Watson – 3.4

David Pittard – 4.2

Jamie Orton – 4.4

Carl Breeze – 4.6

Tom Oliphant – 5.5

Will Burns – 7.2

Luke Davenport – 8.6


Breeze Got 204 Out Of A Possible 218 At Croft And Knockhill - Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Breeze Got 204 Out Of A Possible 218 Points At Croft And Knockhill – Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography


Biggest Points Haul (3 Race Weekends)

Carl Breeze (Knockhill) – 103 points from maximum 109.

David Pittard (Thruxton) – 102 points

Carl Breeze (Croft) – 101 points

Andrew Watson (Brands Indy) – 93 points

Tom Oliphant (Snetterton) – 91 points

Andrew Watson (Brands GP) – 89 points

Charlie Robertson (Brands GP) – 87 points

Charlie Robertson (Knockhill) – 86 points


Biggest Points Haul (2 Race Weekends)

David Pittard (Silverstone) – 73 points from maximum 73

Charlie Robertson (Oulton Park) – 71

Charlie Robertson (Rockingham) – 67

Andrew Watson (Silverstone) – 60

Andrew Watson (Rockingham) – 57

Charlie Robertson (Silverstone) – 52


Places Gained From Grid Position

Luke Davenport – 56

Reece Somerfield – 36

Dan Norris-Jones – 31

Tom Oliphant, Jamie Orton – 29

Carl Breeze, Andrew Watson, Fergus Walkinshaw – 24

Sean Huyton, Carl Boardley – 23

Will Burns – 22

David Pittard – 15

Pepe Massot – 14

Charlie Robertson – 11

Avatar photo
4148 posts

About author
Simon is an experienced journalist and PR officer, who has worked in the national motorsport paddocks for over a decade, primarily on the BTCC support package.
Related posts
FeaturesGinetta GT4 SupercupGinetta Series

Farewell To The Ginetta GT4 SuperCup

8 Mins read
A look back at the history of the Ginetta GT4 SuperCup, which ran from 2011 to 2022, with input from the likes of Tom Ingram, Adam Morgan and Harry King.
British GTBTCCGinetta GT ChampionshipGinetta GT4 SupercupGinetta GT5 ChallengeGinetta Junior

Ginetta announce series restructure with SRO, ending TOCA partnership

2 Mins read
Ginetta set to leave the BTCC/TOCA package in 2023 as they bring three championships under one package alongside the British GT Championship.
Ginetta GT4 Supercup

Ginetta Jr. vice-champion Josh Rattican steps up to Ginetta GT4 SuperCup

1 Mins read
After a stellar year in Ginetta Juniors, Josh Rattican is making the move up to Ginetta GT4 SuperCup for 2021.