Felix Rosenqvist secures Macau F3 pole

Felix Rosenqvist took pole position for Saturday’s qualifying race at the 32nd Macau Formula 3 Grand Prix with Lucas Auer joining him on the front row as Mücke Motorsport secured a front row lock out once Esteban Ocon and Max Verstappen took their grid penalties.

Rosenqvist, racing in Macau for a fifth time, ended the session fastest with a time of 2:11.506s, with SJM Theodore Racing by Prema driver Ocon jumping into second 0.332s after a disappointing first qualifying session on Thursday saw him barely scraping into the top ten.

Both Ocon and third placed Max Verstappen of Van Amersfoort Racing both carried over grid penalties after missing weighbridge checks during Thursday morning practice, and will start fourth and fifth, with Auer and Thursday pacesetter Tom Blomqvist moving up the grid.

Jagonya Ayam with Carlin driver Blomqvist was unable to improve on his Thursday time and had dropped to fifth before his promotion to third, while Jordan King will start sixth for Carlin ahead of Nick Cassidy in the leading NBE-powered ThreeBond with T-Sport machine.

Antonio Giovinazzi, who had been second overnight, dropped to eighth in the second Jagonya Ayam with Carlin machine, with SJM Theodore Racing by Prema’s Nicholas Latifi ninth and Double R Racing’s Roberto Merhi tenth.

With Rosenqvist on top, some drivers took to the track with new tyres towards the end of the session, including Ocon and Latifi, but were unable to get a chance to improve their time or position when Fortec Motorsports’ Spanish driver Alex Palou crashed on track and brought out the red flags.

Another driver who crashed was Stefano Coletti, who was on course to break into the top ten for EuroInternational but ended his session at the Police corner, and will start twelfth behind Motopark’s Markus Pommer.

Macau Qualifying Times (Combined)

1 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mücke Motorsport 2:11.506
2 Lucas Auer AUT Mücke Motorsport 2:11.838
3 Tom Blomqvist SWE Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 2:11.922
4* Esteban Ocon FRA SJM Theodore Racing by Prema 2:11.742
5* Max Verstappen NED Van Amersfoort Racing 2:11.747
6 Jordan King GBR Carlin 2:11.953
7 Nick Cassidy NZL ThreeBond with T-Sport 2:11.979
8 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 2:12.037
9 Nicholas Latifi CAN SJM Theodore Racing by Prema 2:12.067
10 Roberto Merhi ESP Double R Racing 2:12.129
11 Markus Pommer GER Motopark 2:12.259
12 Stefano Coletti MON EuroInternational 2:12.429
13 Sean Galael INO Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 2:12.524
14 Alex Palou ESP Fortec Motorsports 2:12.631
15 William Buller GBR Signature 2:12.871
16 Felix Serralles PUE Team West-Tec F3 2:12.952
17 Antonio Fuoco ITA SJM Theodore Racing by Prema 2:13.066
18 Santino Ferrucci USA Fortec Motorsports 2:13.581
19 Yu Kanamaru JAP Carlin 2:13.731
20 Martin Cao CHN Fortec Motorsports 2:14.112
21 Tatiana Calderon COL Mücke Motorsports 2:14.112
22 Richard Goddard AUS ThreeBond with T-Sport 2:14.122
23 Kenta Yamashita JAP TOMS 2:14.471
24 Gustavo Menezes USA Van Amersfoort Racing 2:14.555
25 Dan Wells GBR Toda Racing 2:15.373
26 Mitsunori Takaboshi JAP B-Max Racing Team 2:15.974
27 Andy Chang MAC Team West-Tec F3 2:16.135
28 Sam MacLeod GBR TOMS 2:16.859

* Two place grid penalty for missing weighbridge during practice *