Rosenqvist takes victory in thrilling Macau finale

At his firth attempt, Felix Rosenqvist finally took victory at the Macau Grand Prix as he led Lucas Auer to a Mücke Motorsport one-two finish in a dramatic final race red-flagged after a multi-car crash on the opening lap.

Starting from pole position, the Swede fell to forth in the opening moments of the race, dropping behind Auer, Esteban Ocon and Tom Blomqvist on the long run down to Lisboa.

Austrian driver Auer dropped back to fourth after braking too late into the corner, while Jagonya Ayam with Carlin driver Blomqvist turned in on Ocon, which had ramifications at the following corner when running side by side, SJM Theodore Racing by Prema driver Ocon was unable to turn with his steering broken, and he took himself and the Briton into the wall at San Francisco Bend.

A chain reaction behind them saw Yu Kanamaru of Carlin being launched over his team-mate Jordan King and then Blomqvist, with the Japanese drivers’ car ending on top of the wall. The race was subsequently red flagged with the track blocked, with all competitors lucky to escape unscathed.

When the race resumed behind the safety car, Rosenqvist made an excellent start, but team-mate Auer once again got into the slipstream and took the lead, only to again run wide into Lisboa, dropping back behind Rosenqvist and Nick Cassidy of ThreeBond with T-Sport.

Cassidy held onto second until a few laps before the end when Auer finally worked his way through, but the New Zealander held onto the final podium spot, ahead of Double R Racing’s Roberto Merhi and SJM Theodore Racing by Prema’s Nicholas Latifi.

Stefano Coletti could not quite keep in touch with the five drivers ahead of him but finished sixth for EuroInternational, finishing just ahead of Max Verstappen, who had an exciting race charging through the field to finish seventh for Van Amersfoort Racing having started twenty-fourth.

Santino Ferrucci was eighth for Fortec Motorsports ahead of Japanese star Kenta Yamashita of TOM’S, while Gustavo Menezes of Van Amersfoort Racing completed the top ten ahead of Motopark’s Markus Pommer and Jagonya Ayam with Carlin’s Antonio Giovinazzi.

Felix Rosenqvist celebrates after his Macau Grand Prix triumph (Credit: CGPM)
Felix Rosenqvist celebrates after his Macau Grand Prix triumph (Credit: CGPM)

Macau Grand Prix Race Result

1 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mücke Motorsport 1hr08m46.691s
2 Lucas Auer AUT Mücke Motorsport +4.372s
3 Nick Cassidy NZL ThreeBond with T-Sport +8.999s
4 Roberto Merhi ESP Double R Racing +9.799s
5 Nicholas Latifi CAN SJM Theodore Racing by Prema +10.413s
6 Stefano Coletti MON EuroInternational +24.000s
7 Max Verstappen NED Van Amersfoort Racing +24.455s
8 Santino Ferrucci USA Fortec Motorsports +31.081s
9 Kenta Yamashita JAP TOM’S +34.334s
10 Gustavo Menezes USA Van Amersfoort Racing +35.246s
11 Markus Pommer GER Motopark +36.576s
12 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +37.319s
13 Tatiana Calderon COL Mücke Motorsport +41.930s
14 William Buller GBR Signature +43.986s
15 Sean Galael INO Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +44.972s
16 Alex Palou ESP Fortec Motorsports +48.063s
17 Dan Wells GBR Toda Racing +52.724s
18 Mitsunori Takaboshi JAP B-MAX Racing Team +57.034s
19 Andy Chang MAC Team West-Tec F3 +1m08.334s
20 Sam MacLeod GBR TOM’S +1m49.990s
21 Felix Serralles PUE Team West-Tec F3 +2m14.441s
RET Antonio Fuoco ITA SJM Theodore Racing by Prema 11 Laps
RET Jordan King GBR Carlin 3 Laps
RET Tom Blomqvist GBR Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 0 Laps
RET Esteban Ocon FRA SJM Theodore Racing by Prema 0 Laps
RET Martin Cao CHN Fortec Motorsports 0 Laps
RET Yu Kanamaru JAP Carlin 0 Laps
RET Richard Goddard AUS ThreeBond with T-Sport 0 Laps