Vanthoor Wins Again in Baku to Steal Overall Blancpain GT Crown

by Peter Allen
#1 WRT - Photo Credit: Brecht Decancq Photography / de Jager

Laurens Vanthoor stole the overall Blancpain GT Series title with a second win at the Baku World Challenge in the main race together with co-driver Cesar Ramos.

From pole position, WRT Audi drivers Ramos and Vanthoor were followed throughout by the Beechdean Aston Martin duo of Jonny Adam and Andy Soucek, who finished two seconds behind at the end of the one-hour race.

Vanthoor came into the race with a 15-point deficit in the GT classification – a combination of points scored in the Sprint and Endurance races during the year – to Maximilian Buhk. But Buhk’s race would come to an end before he got the chance to drive, when co-driver and newly-crowned Sprint Series champion was involved in contact with the #2 WRT Audi of Rene Rast around ten minutes in.

Behind the top two at the flag, a distant third was the Phoenix Racing Audi of Niki Mayr-Melnhof and Markus Winkelhock, which passed the #9 WRT car of Monaco racers Stephane Richelmi and Stephane Ortelli after the pitstops.

Martin Ragginger and Marco Holzer completed a pair of top-five finishes in their Schutz Motorsport Porsche, just ahead of the Boutsen Ginion McLaren of Chris van der Drift and Frederic Vervisch.

Another McLaren was seventh in the hands of Bhaitech duo Giorgio Pantano and Fabio Onidi, followed by the Callaway Corvette of David Jahn and Sven Barth and the BMW Team Brazil twins Rodrigo and Ricardo Sperafico. Zakspeed completed the top ten with their Mercedes piloted by Andreas Simonsen and Alon Day.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More