National Rally

Rally Ace Bilham Named 2014 RSF MSA Young Driver Of The Year

1 Mins read

Junior rally driver Sam Bilham has been named as the 2014 RSF MSA Young Driver of the Year after a final shootout at Silverstone last week.

The 18 year old overcame fellow finalists Alex Gill, Matt Gililand, Alex Toth-Jones and James Reveler to win the award, and he will be crowned at the MSA Night of Champions event in January.

The award caps off a superb season for Bilham, the former Next Big Step award winner securing the BTRDA Rally Series First 1.0 class title, MSA English Rally Junior honours, and the F1000 Senior Gravel and Tarmac titles.

“I’m overwhelmed to be named RSF MSA Young Driver of the Year and this award really makes it such a very special year for me,” said Bilham.

“It was a really tough day and every one of us was deserving of the award but to hear my name being called out at the announcement was just one of the best moments of my career.

“This year has really been a team effort and I can’t thank everyone enough who has helped me get this award. It’s great for the Motorsport CV and it will certainly assist me throughout my progression in the sport. The £1000 from the RSF will go towards my plans for next year which we hope to announce soon”.

Former winners of the award include BRDC F4 race-winner Sennan Fielding (2013), European Rally star Chris Ingram (2012) and reigning Porsche Carrera Cup GB champion Josh Webster (2011).

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
British Rally ChampionshipNational Rally

Trackrod Rally Yorkshire given green light

1 Mins read
The 2021 Trackrod Rally Yorkshire has been given the go ahead to run as a test event before rallying’s return to Forestry England estates later this year.
British Rally ChampionshipNational Rally

British Rally Championship announces new 2021 National Rally Championship

1 Mins read
The Motorsport UK British Rally Championship has announced plans to allow all competitors to take part in a new for 2021 championship.
British Rally ChampionshipEuropean Rally ChampionshipFeaturesFIA World Rally ChampionshipJunior WRCNational RallyOpinionRallyWRC2WRC3

FEATURE: The New Rally Pyramid - Everything You Need To Know

5 Mins read
The FIA have recently introduced a new rallying pyramid into the sport and this handy guide will explain what each class is all about.

Leave a Reply