GRC Lites set for 12-race schedule in 2015

Following the announcement yesterday of a 12-race schedule for the Red Bull Global Rallycross Championship, organisers have confirmed that the GRC Lites category will be supporting the series at all rounds.

Additional support for the series comes in a standalone TV broadcast for American viewers.

“We are delighted to announce the 2015 schedule and first standalone broadcast slate for the GRC Lites class,” said Red Bull GRC CEO Colin Dyne.

“GRC Lites is an important feeder series for Red Bull Global Rallycross, and the source of our future champions for years to come.

“We are incredibly grateful to our fantastic partners at NBC Sports Group for helping us ensure that the future stars of our sport make it to television, and we know that our fans will be excited to watch the most talented young drivers in the world.”

The full 2015 GRC Lites championship schedule is featured below.

31 May: Tampa/St. Petersburg, FL
21 June: Daytona, FL
5 July: United States Military Base
25 July: Detroit, MI (I)
26 July: Detroit, MI (II)
15 August: Washington, DC
30 August: Seattle, WA
12 September: Los Angeles, CA (I)
13 September: Los Angeles, CA (II)
3 October: Barbados (I)
4 October: Barbados (II)
November 5: Las Vegas, NV

Introduced in 2013, GRC Lites has acted as the official feeder series for Red Bull GRC, featuring 310 bhp, all-wheel drive spec vehicles that give an equal playing field for all drivers.

2014 GRC champion Joni Wiman won the inaugural GRC lites title in 2013 while last season saw Mitchell DeJong take the championship.