24 Hours of Le MansFIA WEC

Extreme Speed Motorsports set for full season of FIA WEC

1 Mins read

The American Extreme Speed Motorsports squad will be taking on a new challenge for 2015 when they make the move in to the 2015 FIA World Endurance Championship with their Honda Performance Development (HPD)-ARX-04b.

Fielding two cars in the LMP2 class Scott Sharp will head Ryan Dalziel and David Heinemeier Hansson in the #30 HPD-ARX04b while Ed Brown, Johannes van Overbeek and Jon Fogarty team-up in the #31.

While it is new territory for some drivers, both Sharp and Dalziel hold an advantage when the series heads to Le Mans with Sharp first taking part in a race their in 1996. Dalziel has had three starts including a victory in the LMP2 class in 2012 and the 2012 FIA WEC LMP2 Championship title.

Heinemeier Hansson has also lined up on the LM24 grid three times with a seventh and second place finish in the LMP2 plus a win in the GTE AM class along with the FIA WEC driver’s championship title. van Overbeek makes his fifth start with a best place finish of third in 2005 with the Flying Lizard Porsche team in the GT2 class.

The Tequila Patrón ESM squad took part in the 6 Hours of Circuit of The Americas last season which saw Sharp, Brown and Dalziel take third place before Sharp, Dalziel and Ricardo Gonzalez took the runner-up place at the 6 Hours of Shanghai while team-mates Brown, van Overbeek and David Brabham finished fifth.

The 2015 FIA WEC season starts month at the Prologue pre-season test on March 27-28, at Circuit Paul Ricard in Le Castellet, France.

2870 posts

About author
Founder and Editor-In-Chief of The Checkered Flag who grew up visiting race circuits around the UK also a freelance motorsport PR officer. Outside of motorsport a lover of music, photography, NBA and NFL.
Related posts

Victory for Toyota at 100th Endurance Race After Team Orders Confusion

4 Mins read
Toyota Gazoo Racing finished their 100th endurance race with victory amidst some confusing team orders at the end of the FIA World Endurance Championship 8 Hours of Portimao.

Preview: FIA World Endurance Championship - 8 Hours of Portimao

2 Mins read
The second round of the 2021 FIA World Endurance Championship makes history for the series, heading for the first time to the Algarve Circuit in Portimao.

Prodrive Create Remote Support Hub

1 Mins read
Prodrive’s new remote support hub will be used to aid their Dakar Rally and 24 Hours of Le Mans projects among others.

Leave a Reply