2015 24 Hours of Le Mans – Qualifying 3: No change at the top

Porsche domination continued in an interupted final qualifying session of the 2015 24 Hours of Le Mans.

The 3 minute 16.887 second lap set by Neel Jani means the #18 Porsche will start from pole position, 18 years  since they last took the top grid spot with Michele Alboreto in the Joest WSC 95.

Timo Bernhard‘s time in the #17 Porsche stood from Wednesday for second best on the grid while the #19 lines up in third. Audi occupy the next three positions, and while Filipe Albuquerque improved his time the #9 remains in sixth place.

Toyota will start from seventh and eighth positions after finishing 2.5 seconds behind Audi with Stephane Sarrazin putting the #2 machine ahead of Sebastien Buemi’s #1. Rebellion managed to hold on to ninth and tenth places ahead of fellow LMP1 privateer ByKolles.

Nissan continued to make progress in the final session as Harry Tincknell took the #22 GT-R LM NISMO to 12th place, moving the #23 Nissan down to 13th. The #21 starts 15th, one place behind the leading LMP2 car of KCMG who remained at the top thanks to Richard Bradley‘s lap from Wednesday.

The biggest mover in LMP2 was the #26 G-Drive Ligier as Sam Bird put in a stunning time to move in to second. Greaves Motorsport line up in third ahead of JOTA Sport and Signatech Alpine. Murphy Prototypes made progress as they moved from 14th up to 8th.

Both GT classes were topped by an Aston Martin with the #99 Vantage V8  leading the way  ahead of the #51 Ferrari. Impressive pace from the #98 GTE Am Aston Martin saw them outpace the rest of the GT field. Third in the Pro class was the #97 Aston Martin.