24 Hours of Le MansFIA WEC

Grid Penalties for Seven Cars

1 Mins read

The three Nissan LMP1 entries have been penalised for failing to meet the 110% qualifying lap time minimum, and will start at the back of the prototype field, whilst the #71 AF Corse Ferrari will be forced to start second-last after one of their drivers didn’t set a lap time within 120% of the fastest Porsche LMP1.

The Nissan GT-R LM NISMOs will now start from positions 30th to 32nd, in the order #22, #23 and #21, behind the other LMP1 and LMP2 contenders.

Only the #45 Ibanez ORECA 03 in LMP2 will start behind the Nissans, having been penalised when one of their drivers didn’t meet the minimum requirements. The #4 ByKolles LMP1 car will start in P29 ahead of the Nissans following a similar penalty.

Over in LM GTE-Pro, the #71 AF Corse Ferrari which qualified fourth in class will have to start second-to-last, as Olivier Beretta‘s best time was three seconds slower than the 120% cut-off. This puts the car 54th overall, and 10 rows behind the class pole-sitter.

Finally, at the back of the field is the #67 Team AAI Porsche in LM GTE-Am, which has also been awarded a grid penalty.

The race stewards issued the following notice: “On proposal of the FIA Race Director, to admit drivers who did not comply with the minimum qualifying lap times to start the race, the Stewards decide to authorise the following drivers to take part in the warm-up & the race (ref: Article 68 B 2.8.2 of the Sporting Regulations).”

321 posts

About author
Jake covers sportscars for The Checkered Flag, mainly Tudor United SportsCar Championship and World Endurance Championship, along with a variety of other series including World Rally Championship.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansNASCAR Cup Series

NASCAR wins Dino Toso Racecar Aerodynamicist of the Year Award for Le Mans programme

1 Mins read
NASCAR’s R&D engineers received the Dino Toso Racecar Aerodynamicist of the Year Award for their successful 24 Hours of Le Mans entry.
FIA WECShows and Events

Iron Dames Set to Shine at the Iconic Goodwood Festival of Speed

1 Mins read
The Iron Dames, Sarah Bovy and Rahel Frey, gear up to conquer the famous hillclimb at the Goodwood Festival of Speed, celebrating 75 years of motorsport. Their pink Porsche 911 RSR – 19 will proudly represent women in motorsport, inspiring the younger generation to pursue their racing dreams.
DakarFIA WECFormula 1World Rally-Raid Championship

Alpine Appoints Bruno Famin as VP of Motorsports, Strengthening Racing Ambitions

1 Mins read
Alpine reinforces its motorsports ambitions with the appointment of Bruno Famin as VP, leading Alpine’s racing activities across various disciplines.