Hutchinson Takes Second Win in Superstock TT

by Louis Suddaby

Ian Hutchinson backed up his fairytale Supersport victory by winning the RL360 Superstock race at the 2015 Isle of Man TT on Tuesday. The Bingley Bullet set a new race record to beat Michael Dunlop with Paul Bird Motorsport claiming their first TT race win for fifteen years.

Dunlop, racing his own MD Racing BMW, opened up a two second lead over the opening two laps but the pit-stop sequence would see a decisive change as Hutchinson overturned the deficit. The PBM rider emerged at Glen Helen with a 2.7s advantage and would never be threatened from there as he opened up a 17 second cushion.

The 35 year old admitted the wheel change during his single pit-stop was the key to the race and paid tribute to his mechanics for turning him around quicker than Dunlop, a rider he was overjoyed to have beaten.

“In the four years I’ve been out, Michael’s been the man to beat so to win today and get the better of him makes the win extra special. I’ve worked really hard and all the time I’ve spent in the gym over winter getting fit has paid off although I was a bit unsure about our chances when the team told me about the wheel change. Every rider will tell you that having a wheel change is an incredibly scary thing but fair play to Sam Neate, he did a mega job and it gave the initiative I needed. It was always going to be the hardest race of the week but the team did a fantastic job and there was no panic or drama as far as that was concerned. I was worried as I started running low on fuel at the Bungalow on the last lap so I drafted John McGuinness down the Mountain to conserve it and I was also on the path at Bedstead one lap so it wasn’t all plain sailing.”

Guy Martin had been running third in the early stages but his Tyco BMW refused to fire up as he left the pits, costing him precious time. The chief beneficiary was Lee Johnston who climbed to third, beating James Hillier to the final rostrum position by a quarter of a second.

Peter Hickman finished a fine fifth ahead of David Johnson while Martin fell all the way back to seventh. John McGuinness took eighth in front of Superbike TT winner Bruce Anstey while Conor Cummins rounded out the top ten.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More