GT World Challenge

Vanthoor and Frijns continue winning streak at Zolder

1 Mins read

Laurens Vanthoor and Robin Frijns continued their Blancpain Sprint Series winning streak at the former’s home circuit at Zolder.

After local resident Vanthoor had claimed pole position in qualifying and the WRT Audi pair drove away from the field in the qualifying race, they were dominant once more in Sunday’s main event.

It means the Belgian-Dutch duo have now won four consecutive races, equating to a 100 per cent record for the reigning Blancpain GT champion and the GT newcomer in the BSS races they’ve started together (they missed the Nogaro races after Frijns crashed heavily).

The two nearest cars to the Audi in the qualifying race made contact at the first corner of the main race, putting the Rinaldi Ferrari of Marco Seefried and Norbert Siedler into the gravel.

With the collision declared a racing incident, the HTP Motorsport Bentley of Vincent Abril continued in fourth place, and finished up second in the hands of Maximilian Buhk after passing the BMW Team Brazil car of Atila Abreu and Valdeno Brito.

WRT driver Christopher Mies climbed from ninth to third at the start and went on to pass Abreu, but was penalised for a jump start.

That helped Abreu and Brito to complete the podium ahead of their sister pairing of Sergio Jimenez and Caca Bueno. Niki Mayr-Melnhof and Markus Winkelhock took fifth in their Phoenix Audi, while Tom Dillmann finished his debut weekend with a sixth in HTP Bentley he was sharing with Jules Szymkowiak.

1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansBritish GTFIA WECGT World ChallengeIMSA

Ferrari give first glimpse of GT future with 296 GT3

1 Mins read
New Ferrari 296 GT3 is already being built and is expected to break cover in the coming months ahead of its 2023 race debut.
GT World Challenge

Valentino Rossi commits to GT World Challenge Europe with WRT

1 Mins read
Having just ended his decorated MotoGP career, Valentino Rossi is taking up the GT World Challenge Europe and will run the full 2022 slate for W Racing Team.
GT World Challenge

Preview: Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe Powered by AWS Endurance Cup - Monza

4 Mins read
The first round of the 2021 Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe Powered by AWS gets under way this weekend at Monza. 44 cars line-up on the grid to fight for the win not just on the track but also in the virtual world.