Preview: 2015 Northeast Grand Prix

by Jake Kilshaw

For the first time in Tudor United SportsCar Championship history, the Prototype Challenge class will headline a multi-class event, at this weekend’s Northeast Grand Prix at Connecticut’s Lime Rock Park.

The 2 hour 40 minute race at the short 1.5 mile circuit will see the GT Daytona class join Prototype Challenge, with an expected total of 18 entries made up of 7 PC and 11 GTD cars.

Last time out, the GTD class was absent at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, but the PC battle was won by championship leaders Jon Bennett and Colin Braun of CORE Autosport.

The pair lead PR1/Mathiasen MotorsportsMike Guasch and Tom Kimber-Smith by 10 points heading to Lime Rock Park.

“This will be like a homecoming for me,” said Jon Bennett. “I grew up near the track, went to high school in Newtown and then to the University of Connecticut. As a teenager, I had a lot of fun driving to Lime Rock.”

“It’s neat to be the main show,” said Chris Cumming, who pairs with Bruno Junqueira in the #11 RSR Racing Oreca. “It’s always fun to compete for the overall victory, and there’s also the potential of winning the overall pole. Lime Rock is non-stop action. There’s not a lot of time to rest, and I expect it will be hot. It will be a fun race. The track will be very busy, and you will have to be patient in the traffic.”

In the GTD battle, Christopher Haase and Dion von Moltke‘s Paul Miller Racing Audi leads the championship ahead of the Alex Job Racing Porsche of Cooper MacNeil and Leh Keen.

Currently, some TBA spots exist. Both Performance Tech Motorsports and JDC/Miller Motorsports have yet to announce drivers to join James French and Mikhail Goikhberg respectively. Whilst Wright Motorsports are on the GTD entry list, neither of their drivers have been decided yet.

Todd Slusher replaces John Falb to partner BAR1 MotorsportsSean Rayhall in PC, whilst Dane Cameron fills in for Markus Palttala at Turner Motorsport who is racing at the 24 Hours of Spa this weekend.

The 2015 Northeast Grand Prix starts at 15:15 ET (20:15 UK) on Saturday, July 25. The entry list can be viewed here.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More