First GTD Win of 2015 for Scuderia Corsa

1 Mins read

The GT Daytona category in Sunday’s Oak Tree Grand Prix at Virginia International Raceway was won by Scuderia Corsa drivers Townsend Bell and Bill Sweedler, with the team winning their first race since the 2014 Rolex 24 at Daytona.

Furthermore, this is the first Tudor United SportsCar Championship win of the season for the Ferrari 458 Italia.

Sweedler took the lead from polesitter Dion von Moltke after 27 minutes of running, and the Ferrari was out front for most of the race thereafter, except for a couple of laps at pitstop windows.

Bouncing back from a qualifying crash, TRG-AMR drivers Kuno Wittmer and Christina Nielsen came home second, thus extending Nielsen’s championship lead to six points, over the Scuderia Corsa duo.

The final podium position was taken by Alex Job Racing, as Ian James and Mario Farnbacher score their third podium of the season in the Porsche 911 GT America.

Early leaders Paul Miller Racing finished fifth, behind Turner Motorsport‘s Michael Marsal and Markus Palttala. Dion von Moltke had a strong first stint in the Audi but an off late in the race denied him and Christopher Haase a strong finish.

Up next was the other Alex Job Racing car of Cooper MacNeil and Leh Keen ahead of Road America winners Ben Keating and Jeroen Bleekemolen of Riley Motorsports. Completing the results table were Compass360 Racing, Magnus Racing and Park Place Motorsports.

321 posts

About author
Jake covers sportscars for The Checkered Flag, mainly Tudor United SportsCar Championship and World Endurance Championship, along with a variety of other series including World Rally Championship.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le Mans24 Hours of SpaFIA WECIMSA

Aston Martin Racing Unveils All-Star Works Driver Lineup for 2024

2 Mins read
Aston Martin’s powerhouse of drivers for 2024 promises an exciting journey ahead, combining seasoned champions and rising stars for race success.
24 Hours of Le MansFIA WECIMSA

Lamborghini Iron Lynx Reveals Powerhouse Lineup for 2024 Hypercar Assault

2 Mins read
Lamborghini Iron Lynx roars into 2024 with an elite driver lineup featuring Edoardo Mortara, Mirko Bortolotti, and Romain Grosjean, primed for a hypercar spectacle in FIA WEC and IMSA.

Impressive 57-car entry list for 2023 Sahlen's 6 Hours of The Glen

1 Mins read
The entry list for the 6 Hours of The Glen next weekend is now published