General Formula 3

Giovinazzi dominates again to take Masters of Formula 3 victory

1 Mins read

Antonio Giovinazzi converted the pole position earned by winning the qualifying race on Saturday into a convincing Masters of Formula 3 victory on Sunday, leading at Zandvoort from start-to-finish to win the twenty-fifth running of the historic event.

The Italian racer, driving for the Jagonya Ayam arm of the Carlin team, won the twenty-five lap race by 8.427s ahead of fellow Carlin driver George Russell after front row starter Markus Pommer stalled his Motopark machine at the start.

Within two laps, Giovinazzi had built up more than a two-second margin over Russell, while the British driver was left in a lonely race himself, breaking away from Motopark’s Sergio Sette Camara, who completed the podium for the second day running.

Sette Camara led home team-mates Sam MacLeod and Nabil Jeffri, with Jeffri withstanding pressure from leading Van Amersfoort Racing driver Arjun Maini until the chequered flag.

Ryan Tveter of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin led home another Carlin entry of Red Bull-backed Callum Ilott for seventh and eighth, while Alessio Lorandi finished on their tail in ninth in the second Van Amersfoort Racing entry.

The top ten was completed by Threebond with T-Sport driver Julio Moreno, who along with team-mate Dennis Olsen caught and passed a fading Felix Serralles of Jo Zeller Racing, who dropped down to twelfth.

After stalling on the line, Pommer made ground to catch up with the battle for the top ten, but a late pit stop put him a lap down and last at the end of the race.

Zandvoort Masters of Formula 3 Race Result

[table id=615 /]

13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
General Formula 3

Schumacher joins Charouz as Kari heads up trio of drivers

2 Mins read
Charouz have assembled their trio of drivers for the 2020 FIA Formula 3 season
General Formula 3Season Review

SEASON REVIEW: 2019 FIA Formula 3 Championship - Supreme Shwartzman

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back on the inaugural 2019 FIA Formula 3 Championship which saw Robert Shwartzman crowned champion.
Formula 3General Formula 3

Fernández makes ART F3 switch

1 Mins read
Spaniard Sebastián Fernández will complete ART Grand Prix’s driver line up for the 2020 FIA Formula 3 season after completing a move from Campos Racing.