Kajetanowicz Takes Victory In Cyprus

LOTOS Rally Team‘s Kajetan Kajetanowicz dominated round eight of the FIA European Rally Championship, the CNP ASFALISTIKI Cyprus Rally. The Polish driver was in control from the start of the event and won the rally by a margin of over four minutes. The result has increased Kajetanowicz’ lead in the series and with two rounds to go it could prove a crucial result. The vicory has also secured the Pole the ERC Gravel Master Trophy.

“It’s been an amazing rally for us,” said Kajetanowicz. “We pushed very hard right up until the finish. Many drivers had problems, which shows how difficult the Cyprus Rally is. Our team has worked so well again this weekend. It was a big rally and a big win for us, and the points we have scored here are very important for the championship.”

Bruno Magalhães had a successful weekend and finished second in his Peugeot 208 T16. Robert Consani made the perfect response to his accident in the Czech Republic by securing third place in his Citroen DS3 R5. The Frenchman beat the Skoda Fabia s2000 of Jaromir Tarabus. Alexey Lukyanuk ended a difficult weekend in fourth place in his Ford Fiesta R5 while David Botka seured the ERC2 win.

Te next round of the ERC takes crews to Greece for the infamous Acropolis Rally commencing on October 9.