Pole Position Start for Hand, Pruett at COTA

Qualifying for the 2015 Lone Star Le Mans at Circuit of The Americas resulted in success for Chip Ganassi Racing, thanks to a 1:58.441 from Scott Pruett. He and team-mate Joey Hand will start from pole position on Saturday afternoon.

Joining the the sole Ford EcoBoost Riley DP on the front row is the Ligier JS P2 – HPD of Michael Shank Racing, driven by John Pew and Oswaldo Negri Jr., which features a special Justin Wilson tribute livery this weekend.

Positions three through six are held by the Corvette DPs. The first of these is the #5 Action Express Racing entry, with the sister #31 car in fifth. Between them is Wayne Taylor Racing, whilst VisitFlorida.com Racing starts from sixth. Behind the DeltaWing in seventh are the two SpeedSource Mazda Prototypes, the #70 ahead of the #07.

Prototype Challenge was led by Bruno Junquiera and Chris Cumming in their #11 RSR Racing ORECA FLM09, in front of the #85 JDC/Miller Motorsports car, who set a time 0.475 seconds slower than Cumming’s 2:02.222.

Our front in GT Le Mans is the Porsche North America #911 team of Nick Tandy (who misses this weekend’s FIA World Endurance Championship round at the same circuit) and Patrick Pilet, the latter setting a 2:04.396. Behind them is the #25 BMW Team RLL Z4, in front of the other #912 Porsche.

GT Daytona is set to be led from the line by the #48 Paul Miller Racing Audi R8 LMS of Dion von Moltke, who recorded a 2:11.097, and Christopher Haase. Behind them is the #33 Riley Motorsports Dodge Viper GT3R. Championship leader Christina Nielsen will start from fourth with co-driver Kuno Wittmer.