Global Rallycross

Volkswagen continue to dominate in LA

2 Mins read

The Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross team banished all thoughts of bad luck that have plagued their season by taking a commanding 1-2 finish in the first final of Red Bull GRC Los Angeles presented by Subaru Tecnica International.

Scott Speed, who took second place in yesterday’s qualifying session, led home polesitter Tanner Foust from lights to flag, with Bryan Herta Rally Sport driver Patrik Sandell following behind in third, almost four seconds back.

It was a perfect event for Speed who won both his heats and his semi final en route to the final.

Second place for Speed’s VARX team mate Foust marked his first podium since winning at Daytona, Sandell meanwhile took a semi final win before clinching his third podium in as many races after turning his season around with a win in Detroit.

Taking time out to work on their new WRX STi paid dividends for Subaru Rally Team USA who took their best result of the season with fourth for Sverre Isachsen.

Three of the team’s four cars qualified for the final – Travis Pastrana took seventh although Bucky Lasek was unable to start the final after contact with Austin Dyne in the LCQ left the skateboarding superstar with engine issues.

Chip Ganassi Racing pair Steve Arpin and Brian Deegan finished the final in fifth and sixth respectively in another strong showing for the IndyCar championship winning outfit.

It was a strong return to the series for Deegan who after dividing his time so far this year between Red Bull GRC and off road truck racing took a pair of heat wins and a third place in his semi final on his way to the main event.

Nelson Piquet Jr. couldn’t make it back to back wins, settling for eighth place – although he did take a brace of heat wins earlier in the day.

Joni Wiman was the final runner in the main event, taking ninth.

Championship contenders Ken Block and Sebastian Eriksson didn’t make the final for the first time this season after both failed to advance from the Last Chance Qualifier. Brian Wong and David Higgins, making their first starts of the season, as well as Dyne were the other drivers who did not advance from the LCQ.

Red Bull GRC Los Angeles presented by Subaru Tecnica International continues today with the second full event of the weekend taking place on a truncated timetable.

Avatar photo
333 posts

About author
Dominik Wilde is a professional motorsport and motoring writer that has covered events in both the UK and USA. His main focus for the Checkered Flag is covering Americas Rallycross and Nitro Rallycross.
Related posts
Global RallycrossGRC LitesNASCAR Cup SeriesStadium SUPER TrucksX Games

Austin Cindric joins Robby Gordon as X Games medalists with NASCAR Cup wins

6 Mins read
What do Daytona 500 champ Austin Cindric and Robby Gordon have in common? They’re the only drivers with NASCAR Cup Series wins and X Games medals. Thanks to rallycross and Stadium Super Trucks, the NASCAR/X Games overlap is quite deep.
Global RallycrossNASCAR Truck SeriesNASCAR Xfinity SeriesStadium SUPER TrucksX Games

Xfinity, Truck Championship Rounds feature SST, X Games experience

6 Mins read
Of the 8 NASCAR Xfinity and Truck drivers fighting for championships this weekend, 3—Sheldon Creed, Zane Smith, and Brett Moffit—have driven a Stadium Super Truck. Creed and Xfinity regular season champ Austin Cindric have also won X Games off-road medals.
Americas Rallycross ChampionshipFMXGlobal RallycrossRallycross

More action sports stars have 'potential' to move into rallycross

3 Mins read
But spiralling costs could put a stop to any big moves