Oliphant Crowned Supercup Champion As Breeze Wins Again

A second victory of the weekend was not enough for Carl Breeze to delay the inevitable in the Michelin Ginetta GT4 Supercup season finale, with Tom Oliphant sealing the championship title with a second place finish.

Second in the weekend’s opening race for Oliphant meant the Century Motorsport man only needed to finish thirteenth or higher to be crowned champion with a race to spare, but he wasn’t ready to just settle for second best and pushed Breeze for victory in a thrilling final two lap shoot-out.

That came following a late safety car period after a spin for debutant Ruben Anakhasyan at Westfield, and as the racing resumed Oliphant looked to challenge for the lead, drawing alongside Breeze into Paddock Hill for the final time.

Breeze had the inside line though and he kept his HHC Motorsport G55 in front to record his eighth win of the campaign, but second place was still more than enough for Oliphant to secure his maiden GT championship with his seventeenth consecutive podium finish.

Michael Caine ran third throughout to notch his sixth podium finish of the campaign, while after a strong start Ollie Jackson ran fourth for the majority, however Jordan Stilp benefited from the late bunching up behind the safety car to grab the place on the final lap.

They had both gained a place when Will Burns was unable to make the start due to illness, with his HHC Motorsport team-mate Jamie Orton being the main man of the move throughout the race, climbing up from 21st on the grid after troubles in race one.

The former championship contender fought his way through to eighth at the finish behind Carl Boardley and Tom Wrigley, the latter surviving last lap contact with Bradley Smith at Surtees that spun Smith down to 24th at the finish.

Mike Robinson and Callum Pointon rounded out the top ten ahead of debutant Rob Wheldon and newly-crowned AM class champion Colin White, who took his thirteenth class victory of the campaign ahead of Connaire Finn and Chris Ingram.

25 of the 26 starters made the finish, with Anakhasyan the only unfortunate retirement following his spin, while it was Oliphant who set the fastest lap of the race outright, White setting the AM class pace.

Full race results can be found here.