Rosenqvist secures Macau pole as times tumble

Felix Rosenqvist secured pole position for the qualifying race of the Macau Grand Prix as times tumbled during second qualifying on Friday.

The Swedish driver had held provisional pole position following Thursday’s opening qualifying session, but had to improve his time during the second session to put his SJM Theodore Racing by Prema Powerteam car on pole.

Rosenqvist’s 2m11.841s from Thursday would have seen him down in tenth position had he not improved such were the gains made on Friday, with the 2015 FIA European Formula 3 Champion and defending Macau Grand Prix winner clinching pole with a time of 2m10.474s.

Joining Rosenqvist on the front row will be Spaniard Daniel Juncadella of Fortec Motorsports, who was a last minute addition to the field after Pietro Fittipaldi decided against competing around the streets of Macau this season.

Juncadella finished just 0.213s back from the pole time, while row two sees Charles Leclerc of Van Amersfoort Racing line-up alongside Antonio Giovinazzi of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, although the Italian cut short the session when he crashed at the left-hander before Maternity Bend.

Friday morning practice pacesetter Markus Pommer confirmed his pace by finishing fifth for Motopark, although the German will take a two-place penalty for impeding another driver during the session, while Sam MacLeod, who raced alongside Pommer at Motopark during the European Formula 3 season but who is racing for Team West-Tec F3 in Macau, qualifying sixth but moving up to fifth.

Sergio Sette Camara will start sixth after having his first untroubled session of the weekend in the second of the two Motopark entries, while Arjun Maini of ThreeBond with T-Sport secured an excellent eighth, behind the penalised Pommer.

Alessio Lorandi of Van Amersfoort Racing and Lance Stroll of Prema Powerteam complete the top ten.

It was a disappointing day for the Carlin team, with both Giovinazzi and Callum Ilott both crashing, with the Briton’s time from opening qualifying counting towards his grid slot, leaving him down in eighteenth after being second overnight.

Fellow Carlin driver Gustavo Menezes also tagged the wall at Moorish, but due to damage could not turn the car sufficiently and understeered the car into the barriers at the Melco Hairpin, with Lorandi running into the back of him as a result and a traffic jam forming behind.

Macau Grand Prix Qualifying Result

11Felix RosenqvistSWESJM Theodore Racing by Prema Powerteam2m10.474s
221Daniel JuncadellaESPFortec Motorsports2m10.687s
315Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing2m10.796s
47Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin2m11.034s
519Markus PommerGERMotopark2m11.091s
629Sam MacLeodGBRTeam West-Tec F32m11.523s
720Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark2m11.721s
827Arjun MainiINDThreeBond with T-Sport2m11.722s
916Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing2m11.732s
103Lance StrollCANSJM Theodore Racing by Prema Powerteam2m11.794s
1124Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport2m11.965s
1225Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport2m12.026s
1330Alexander SimsGBRDouble R Racing2m12.036s
142Jake DennisGBRSJM Theodore Racing by Prema Powerteam2m12.053s
1517Alexander AlbonTHASignature2m12.054s
1612Yuhi SekiguchiJAPB-Max Racing Team2m12.197s
1728Ryan TveterUSATeam West-Tec F32m12.474s
1810Callum IlottGBRCarlin2m12.663s
199Yu KanamaruJAPCarlin2m12.723s
2011Mitsunori TakaboshiJAPB-Max Racing Team2m12.836s
2122Wing Chung ChangMACFortec Motorsports2m12.879s
2223Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports2m12.969s
235Kenta YamashitaJAPTOM's2m13.027s
246Nick CassidyNZLTOM's2m13.162s
258Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin2m13.369s
2618Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature2m13.683s
2731Matt SolomanHKGDouble R Racing2m13.736s
2832Zhi Cong LiCHNJo Zeller Racing2m14.525s