BRDC Celebrate Member Success With 2015 Awards

3 Mins read

The British Racing Drivers’ Club (BRDC) honoured the achievements of its members in 2015 this week during its annual awards lunch at the Grand Connaught Rooms in London.

Three-time Formula One World Champion Lewis Hamilton’s success was recognised with three awards, The Graham Hill Trophy, The Johnny Wakefield Trophy and the coveted BRDC Gold Star, which he accepted with a recorded video message.

Two special Gold Stars were also handed out to FIA World Endurance Champions Mark Webber and Brendon Hartley, while Le Mans 24 Hour winner Nick Tandy was awarded The ACO Plate and Richard Westbrook earned The Earl Howe Trophy.

European F3 star Jake Dennis picked up two accolades, including The Richard Seaman Trophy for being the best placed driver outside F1 in the Gold Star rankings, while Formula Renault 3.5 champion Oliver Rowland took The Fairfield Trophy for outstanding performance by a BRDC member.

Despite missing out on the BTCC title to Gordon Shedden, Jason Plato picked up the coveted BRDC Silver Star for an eighth time, while Jack Aitken secured The Henry Surtees Award for outstanding performance by a BRDC Rising Star.

Fresh from winning the McLaren Autosport BRDC Award last night, Will Palmer picked up The Chris Bristow Trophy in recognition of that success, as well as his BRDC Formula 4 Championship Trophy, while his predecessor to that title George Russell picked up The John Cooper Trophy.

Amongst the other winners were Jon Lancaster, Oliver Gavin, Nick Cassidy and Charlie Robertson, the latter taking the ERA Club Trophy in recognition of his European Le Mans Series LMP3 victory.

Full 2015 BRDC Award Winners:

The John Cooper Trophy – George Russell for a GP3 or FIA European Formula 3 driver with the potential to become a future world champion

The Spencer Charington Trophy – Jake Dennis for the highest-placed British driver in the FIA European Formula 3 Championship

The Richard Seaman Trophy – Jake Dennis for the best placed BRDC member in Gold Star points outside Formula One

The Nigel Moores Trophy – Richard Dutton for the most meritorious performance in international motor racing by a private entrant

The Fairfield trophy – Oliver Rowland Awarded for an outstanding performance  by a BRDC member

The ACO Plate – Nick Tandy on behalf of the Automobile Club De L’Ouest to the highest placed British driver at the Le Mans 24 hour race

The Silverstone – Le Mans Challenge – Audi: Andre Lotterer, Marcel Fassler, Benoit Treluyer for the driver or team achieving the highest combined finishing record of the Silverstone LMS race and the Le Mans 24 Hour race

The Earl Howe Trophy – Richard Westbrook for the British driver delivering the most meritorious performance of the year in North America

The John Cobb Trophy – Jon Lancaster for a success of outstanding character achieved by a British driver, in a British car

The Woolf Barnato Trophy – Team JOTA Sport: Oliver Turvey, Mitch Evans and Simon Dolan To the highest placed British driver or team in the Le Mans 24 hour race

The Colin Chapman Trophy – Oliver Gavin a special BRDC award to an individual displaying great team sprit be it a driver, team owner or engineer

The Innes Ireland Award – Daniel Ricciardo for the driver best displaying qualities of courage and sportsmanship epitomised by the late Innes Ireland

The Henry Surtees Award – Jack Aitken for the most outstanding performance by a BRDC Rising Star

The Sir Jackie Stewart Award – James Allison for a motorsport engineer who has shown brilliance during the course of the season

The Bruce McLaren Trophy – Nick Cassidy for the Commonwealth driver establishing the most meritorious performances in international motor racing

The Duo BRDC Formula 4 Championship Trophy – Will Palmer for the winner of the BRDC Formula 4 Championship

The Chris Bristow Trophy – Will Palmer for the winner of the McLaren Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

The Graham Hill Trophy – Lewis Hamilton MBE for the most meritorious performance by a British driver in single seater racing

The Johnny Wakefield Trophy – Lewis Hamilton MBE for the fastest lap of the season at Silverstone Grand Prix circuit

BRDC Silver Star – Jason Plato for the strongest performance of the year by a Member in domestic championships (Points accumulation)

Special Gold Star – Mark Webber and Brendon Hartley for Members winning the FIA World Endurance Championship

BRDC Gold Star – Lewis Hamilton MBE for the strongest performance of the year by a Member in international championships (Points accumulation)

Avatar photo
4148 posts

About author
Simon is an experienced journalist and PR officer, who has worked in the national motorsport paddocks for over a decade, primarily on the BTCC support package.
Related posts
Formula 2Open WheelOther

Formula 2 Returns to The Temple of Speed to Race to the Top

2 Mins read
Formula 2 returns to Monza as fight for the place of the champion continues
Formula 2Open WheelOther

Formula 2 Bids Goodbye to Zandvoort as Qatar Enters the Calendar for 2024

1 Mins read
FIA Formula 2 releases 2024 season calendar
Formula 2Other

Preview: FIA F2 Round 10 - Mogyoród, Hungary

1 Mins read
Formula 2 returns to Mogyoród for a thrilling round! Vesti leads, but Pourchaire trails closely. Hungary’s challenging circuit promises intense battles and unpredictable weather, setting the stage for a pivotal championship showdown.