United Arab Emirates to set up Formula 4 series in 2016

After the rise in popularity Formula 4 has seen this year, the concept has seen a number of series set up for the new 2016 season. But now the United Arab Emirates has become the next nation to jump on the bandwagon, with the Gulf based series becoming the thirteenth different FIA run category (after the South East Asian Series)

The new season, which is set to get under way at the tail end of 2016 and conclude early 2017, will see the Tatuus F4 cars race around the Dubai Autodrome and the Yas Marina circuit on various combinations for a total of six weekends, with three races a piece.

On top of this, Abarth has announced its intention to supply F4-T014 engines for the championship, following the lines of the the Italian, ADAC and SMP series.

Similar to the Chinese and Japanese versions, the governing body will look to promote the series for local drivers rather than follow along the lines of the Indian based MRF Challenge, where European drivers race in order to keep up their craft during the off season.

By only allowing drivers with a licence from the Mena Region to score points, the championship should be set up similar to SMP, which in turn only allows participants to score points if they hold an NEZ licence.

The series itself will be set up by AUH Motorsports and like many of its European counterparts, will be open to drivers 15 years old and above.