2016 ERC Prize Money Package Confirmed

by Matthew McMahon

THE 2016 FIA European Rally Championship is less than a month away and the series organsiers have confirmed a six figure prize money package for the new season. €200,000 will be distributed throughout the season thanks to ERC promoter Eurosport Events continued support and the figure is one of the biggest funds in international rallying.

The seven highest registered drivers will be awarded a total of €20,000 on each of the ten rounds of the series with the highest placed driver earning €7,000. All drivers registered for the ERC using Michelin and Pirelli tyres including ERC2 and ERC3 will be eligible.

“It takes a significant financial commitment to compete in a top-level championship such as the ERC and this substantial prize fund provision will go a long way towards helping some of those drivers on a restricted budget compete on more events and therefore grow their experience for the future.” said ERC Co-ordinator Jean-Baptiste Ley said.

The opening round of the series takes place in the forests of Latvia on Rally Liepaja. The 2015 event was won by series runner-up Craig Breen.


Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More