24 Hours of Le MansFIA WEC

Gulf Racing firm up full 2016 WEC line-up

1 Mins read

Following the announcement that Gulf Racing were moving up from the European Le Mans Series to the FIA World Endurance Championship in 2016, the team have now announced the drivers who will compete in the nine-race series, including the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Mike Wainwright had been announced to drive when the initial announcement was made, but his two team-mates have now been revealed, with Adam Carroll following the team into WEC having raced with the outfit in ELMS the first new name.

The second name is that of Ben Barker, who has a good knowledge of the Porsche 991 RSR following extensive racing in Porsche Supercup, and it marks a return to the team for Barker following a season with them in ELMS back in 2014.

“We are very pleased to welcome Adam and Ben back to the team for 2016, driving alongside Mike,” said Team Manager Matt Beers.

“Both drivers are part of the Gulf Racing family, having driven for us in recent times, and we know they are both a safe pair of hands with exceptional pace.

“It’s a great line-up for our championship campaign and I’m looking forward to working with them again.”

Related posts
FeaturesFIA WEC

Conway, Lopez and Kobayashi Convert Pole to Championship Victory

4 Mins read
Mike Conway, Jose Maria Lopez and Kamui Kobayashi won the 2019/20 FIA World Endurance Championship with a lights-to-flag victory whilst heartbreak hit Aston Martin as all their cars were plagued with brake issues.

Advantage Lopez, Conway, Kobayashi who Claim Pole for WEC Bahrain

3 Mins read
Mike Conway and Jose Maria Lopez have taken overall pole position for the 2020 FIA World Endurance Championship Bapco 8 Hours of Bahrain, but GTE Pro qualifying became a confusing tale of track limits.

Preview: 2020 8 Hours of Bahrain - FIA World Endurance Championship

3 Mins read
Take a look at the class championship standings and the entry list of the 2020 Bapco 8 Hours of Bahrain ahead of the finale of the 2019/20 FIA World Endurance Championship.

Leave a Reply