Starworks Motorsport adjusts Sebring driver lineup

1 Mins read

Starworks Motorsport has modified its driver groupings ahead of this weekend’s 12 Hours of Sebring.

Michael Lyons and David Heinemeier Hansson will join the two-car Prototype Challenge entry in place of Chris Cumming, Jack Hawksworth and Mark Kvamme.

Heinemeier Hansson is to partner Alex Popow and Renger van der Zande in the #9 Oreca FLM09-Chevrolet, filling the gap left by Daytona drivers Cumming and Hawksworth.

The Danish driver is a former class winner at Le Mans and has prior PC experience with RSR Racing. Last season he drove at the 12 Hours of Sebring with ESM.

“I’m extremely happy to also have David Heinemeier Hansson in our cars for Sebring and the Petit,” said team owner Peter Baron. “There is no doubt David is one of the fastest silvers out there currently. He was second last year and he’s back to get the win.”

Lyons, meanwhile, will share the #88 Starworks Motorsport Oreca with fellow 12 Hours of Sebring rookies Maro Engel and Sean Johnston after Kvamme pulled out due to prior commitments.

The 25 year old Irish prospect is a renowned historic racer who finished second in the Blancpain Endurance Series Pro-Am class in 2015, as well as claiming an LMP2 podium in the European Le Mans Series. This weekend will mark Lyons’ debut in the PC category.

“It’s unfortunate that Mark Kvamme could not make it, he will be extremely missed,” he added. “We’re happy to introduce Michael Lyons to IMSA racing as he fills in for Mark. Michael comes to us with an exceptional record and a great deal of experience in prototype cars.”

“I was thrilled when Peter called me with the opportunity to fill in for Kvamme,” said Lyons. “I’ve known of Starworks for a long time after seeing their success in Europe winning WEC and Le Mans in P2 back in 2012. I’m really looking forward to making my debut race in the United States at such an iconic event as the Twelve Hours of Sebring! With the strong teammates I have in Sean and Maro we should stand a good chance.”

The 12 Hours of Sebring – round two of the IMSA WeatherTech Sportscar Championship – takes place this weekend on March 19 starting at 10:40 EST.

Related posts

#7 Porsche Penske victorious in rain soaked 6 Hours of the Glen

3 Mins read
The #7 Porsche Penske 963 won the rain soaked 6 Hours of the Glen last night, becoming the first team to take a double overall win of the season.
24 Hours of Le Mans24 Hours of SpaFIA WECIMSA

Aston Martin Racing Unveils All-Star Works Driver Lineup for 2024

2 Mins read
Aston Martin’s powerhouse of drivers for 2024 promises an exciting journey ahead, combining seasoned champions and rising stars for race success.
24 Hours of Le MansFIA WECIMSA

Lamborghini Iron Lynx Reveals Powerhouse Lineup for 2024 Hypercar Assault

2 Mins read
Lamborghini Iron Lynx roars into 2024 with an elite driver lineup featuring Edoardo Mortara, Mirko Bortolotti, and Romain Grosjean, primed for a hypercar spectacle in FIA WEC and IMSA.