Cameron leads Sebring first practice for Action Express

1 Mins read

Dane Cameron recorded the quickest lap during the opening practice session for Saturday’s 12 Hours of Sebring.

The Action Express Racing driver set a 1:52.447s effort at the 3.7 mile circuit to top the overall standings in the #31 Corvette DP.

Cameron was followed by Scott Pruett in the sister Action Express car, who ended the session 0.779s down on his team-mate.

Third overall was the highest placed LMP2 entry of Extreme Speed Motorsports’ Johannes van Overbeek who pedalled the Daytona-winning Ligier JS P2-HPD to a 1:53.312.

In fourth was the Michael Shank Racing Ligier-HPD, while DragonSpeed completed the top five with its Oreca 05-Nissan.

CORE Autosport led the Prototype Challenge category at the end of the hourlong session as Colin Braun registered a 1:55.469 in the #54 Oreca FLM09-Chevrolet. Braun concluded the morning nearly a second clear of the #8 Starworks machine, while the all-rookie #88 Starworks car finished third in class with a 1:57.548.

GTLM was close throughout but at the close of play it was BMW Team RLL that held the top spot, courtesy of a 1:59.327 lap from Dirk Werner. The German driver finished ahead of the two Porsche 911 RSRs while the other BMW M6 claimed fourth, just ahead of the Risi Competizione Ferrari 488.

In GTD three different manufacturers occupied the top three places with the #33 Dodge Viper of Jeroen Bleekemolen setting the class pace. Bleekemolen’s 2:02.901 was one hundredth of a second under the time set by the Magnus Racing Audi R8 LMS, while Park Place Motorsports followed closely with its Porsche 991 GT3R.

Related posts

#7 Porsche Penske victorious in rain soaked 6 Hours of the Glen

3 Mins read
The #7 Porsche Penske 963 won the rain soaked 6 Hours of the Glen last night, becoming the first team to take a double overall win of the season.
24 Hours of Le Mans24 Hours of SpaFIA WECIMSA

Aston Martin Racing Unveils All-Star Works Driver Lineup for 2024

2 Mins read
Aston Martin’s powerhouse of drivers for 2024 promises an exciting journey ahead, combining seasoned champions and rising stars for race success.
24 Hours of Le MansFIA WECIMSA

Lamborghini Iron Lynx Reveals Powerhouse Lineup for 2024 Hypercar Assault

2 Mins read
Lamborghini Iron Lynx roars into 2024 with an elite driver lineup featuring Edoardo Mortara, Mirko Bortolotti, and Romain Grosjean, primed for a hypercar spectacle in FIA WEC and IMSA.